Dec 24, 2015, 12:23 PM
we can take off without that
Thread OP
Discussion

Speed controller immediate reverse?

Hello.
After a long time I am getting back into RC boats.
Does anyone know if any Hobby King ESC has immediate reverse function?
I bought the Turnigy Marine 35A, which has reverse, but it is really difficult to engage. I have to bring the throttle to neutral, then move it half way to reverse, then back to neutral, then again to reverse and only then motor will engage in reverse.
Surely there must be some cheap brushless esc which can engage reverse more easily?
I had a tiny Schulze brushed esc before and it engaged reverse immediately.

Thanks
to remove ads between posts
Dec 24, 2015, 01:14 PM
Submarine or Target?
I have a HK esc that acts that way. But it was meant for crawler trucks. I have to program the brake function out if it. I just printed the data sheet this morning. It will probably be January before I get a chance to try it. As an industrial maintenance tech, I have a lot of 12hr shifts to work between now and Jan 1.
Dec 24, 2015, 04:17 PM
Thread OP
I learned a bit more about cheap Turnigy and similar boat ESCs.
Looks like most of them are derived from car Esc and have a brake function.
Apparently to go in reverse is a function called 'double tap' where you have to go to neutral, then to reverse (nothing happens) then back to neutral, then to reverse and motor will run.

Unfortunately this is no good for tugs, battleships and other slow boats which are heavy and have a lot of momentum. These boats need reverse immediately if they are on a collision course with weeds, branches, etc, otherwise small detail can get damaged such as PE railings etc.

It is not clear if HK's cheap Turnigy boat ecs have the double tap function or not. It is also not clear if the brake function is separate from double tap so even if brake function is switched off the esc still requires the double tap action to engage reverse.