Jul 26, 2004, 09:24 PM
Thread OP
Rant

Inexpensive home-brew winch? Is it possible? RRRr!

I've looked everywhere, and all I've seen are winch kits in the $500+ range. That's a little too steep of a price, and I think I could home brew something for far less. Does anyone know where I can get some help? what Kv motor should I use? What size motor should it be? How low ($$$) can I go? Anything would help!

BTW, is there any way I could come up with a proportional control system for the winch, rather than pulsing a solenoid? Couldn't I use something like a sewing machine foot pedal, and run a bunch of transitors (field effect? Note I'm a novice at electronics, however I'm very good at soldering! ) or tubes by it that could handle the current load? I've got a problem with using a solenoid on a weaker plane, I'd hate to see a Paragon or a Viking wing snap while doing the funky chicken up on launch.
Last edited by e-sailpilot86; Jul 26, 2004 at 09:27 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 26, 2004, 10:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-sailpilot86
I've looked everywhere, and all I've seen are winch kits in the $500+ range. That's a little too steep of a price, and I think I could home brew something for far less. Does anyone know where I can get some help? what Kv motor should I use? What size motor should it be? How low ($$$) can I go? Anything would help!

BTW, is there any way I could come up with a proportional control system for the winch, rather than pulsing a solenoid? Couldn't I use something like a sewing machine foot pedal, and run a bunch of transitors (field effect? Note I'm a novice at electronics, however I'm very good at soldering! ) or tubes by it that could handle the current load? I've got a problem with using a solenoid on a weaker plane, I'd hate to see a Paragon or a Viking wing snap while doing the funky chicken up on launch.