Dec 23, 2015, 12:34 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Eagle 3.6 SUSA

I'm building a new Eagle 3.6 from the good folks at Soaring USA. Annette and Alex are a pleasure to work with. I always check RC groups for build info and didn't find much, so I'll put this one out there. There is an excellent similar build log by Rob Glover for the AVA Pro, I used some of Rob's (Bubba's) tips with his permission. You can find his build log here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1336105.

I also received advice from Ed Stewart who kindly sent some pictures along that will be included with his permission.

Paul Naton's "F3X Building Clinic" is an excellent source of information. I've built quite a number of gliders, but I always seem to find useful information in his videos.

By way of calibration, I've been playing with toy airplanes for over 50 years on and off. I'm a level IV LSF and have stumbled into wood at the NATS a couple of times. I had the privilege of being a classroom teacher for 37 years. Now retired: you can take the teacher out of the classroom, but....

This build log is kind of a "Cliff Notes" version of Rob's excellent log, modified for the Eagle. Let me also disabuse you of thinking that the build has happened in the logical step by step method in a neat shop as the log suggests. I fiddle with things out of the presented order and make quite a mess as things move along.
Last edited by Barry Andersen; Dec 30, 2015 at 01:12 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Dec 23, 2015, 01:00 PM
Thread OP

Spoilers

Generally no fun to get things working right in cramped space. I've always used a solid linkage in the past but Ed Stewart convinced me to try a system with a lever and magnet. So, simple and works great. The kit comes with parts to make a solid link system if you're so inclined.