Dec 21, 2015, 07:18 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Purchased wrong motor, could I still fly?

Hi,

I'm new to the forum, so I apologize in advanced if I have posted in the wrong place.

I am new to electric planes and decided to buy the Phoenix Spitfire MK2 and make it an electric plane. I purchased everything as suggested by the manufacturer for electric flying... except for the motor. The manufacturer recommended motor is a 480kv brushless. I accidentally purchased a 1050kv motor instead (probably because I had about 10 open tabs when I was shopping around), and just noticed today when I opened the package and saw the kv rating. The motors size and weight are similar as the 480kv counterpart, and are the same brand and series. I am wondering if it will be okay to use this motor instead (any significant performance issues etc?) or should I just order the 480kv to be on the safe side?

This is to be used with 2 x 2S LiPo 25C 4000mah batteries in series and a 60A ESC.

I appreciate any input on this.
Last edited by fusionrc; Dec 21, 2015 at 08:07 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Dec 21, 2015, 07:25 PM
If it fits ; it will work , I think. Will be a faster plane .
Dec 21, 2015, 07:26 PM
homo ludens modellisticus
Links to the motors?

Kv = 1050rpm/volt would give you a screamer at roughly 4 4 1050 = 17krpm, but not for long

Since you only mentioned Kv here: Kv says nothing about power a motor can handle (could be 10watt, could be 10megawatt), or torque.
Motorcurrent and -power are proportional to Kv cubed, they both want to increase by factor (1050/480) = 10! (a.k.a. ten!). Controller and motor would go up in smoke instantly, battery would take a severe beating.

Same weight means about the same power, so you'd have to prop down and/or use lower voltage to get current within bounds again. Motorcurrent is proportional to voltage cubed. Using half the pack would quarter you current, still 2.5 times higher than with Kv = 480rpm/volt.

Do you have flying experience?