Simple but mighty DIY 4 axis CNC Foam Cutter - Theremino Controller (Not Arduino)! - RC Groups
Dec 17, 2015, 12:36 PM
Discussion

Simple but mighty DIY 4 axis CNC Foam Cutter - Theremino Controller (Not Arduino)!

Hello everybody

this is the description of my first DIY 4 axis CNC machine.

It was originally described on our Italian RC forum in this Thrtead
I made it simple, cheap but with powerful open hardware/software controller - Theremino

I will write about Its open source electronics (Theremino Master Dil) and Open source GCode executor (ThereminoCNC)
I will write also about commercial software used to design a wing (GMFC - DevWing Foam) and a commercial Gcode Executor (DevCNC Foam).

Please consider this discussion as made by an absolute beginner, so you will shurely find errors or misunderstandings, be patient and comment if you like!!!
I will learn a lot from your observations, for sure!

The mechanic design was taken from many discussions on our forum like this thread (thanks to gregnapola and others), This one and many other web resources that I don't recall right now..

These are the mechanics for the 4 axis

They were made using 4 NEMA 17 (17hs4401n) stepper motors and drawer guides, plus some wood, some alu square tube, many iron pieces (plates and angular joiners) and 2 table legs.

Movement is operated by 8mm diameter 1.25mm/turn pitch screws.

On one side the screw is held by the motor trough a vibration dumping block
On the other side I used a support holding a skate wheel ball bearing

On the X axis I used a solution by Gregnapola to eliminate the dangling on change of direction.
It consist in two long nuts with a slightly compressed spring between them.

This way the carriage on X axis don't loose any motor step when changing direction and if you make some try with different spring compression you can achieve an almost frictionless movement of the screw trough the two nuts.
Last edited by pieri70; Jan 04, 2017 at 01:01 AM.