This thread is privately moderated by rdstarwalt, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Dec 12, 2015, 12:15 PM
AMA 79169
Thread OP
Discussion

Friday's (late again) Did You Know (77)...

...in the words of Gus Morfis:
Quote:
'Jack was a performance engineer, and worked at a desk, or something like that, while I was a design engineer, and I worked on a drafting board, in design integration. This was at the time of the Northrop T-38 Talon and the F-5E fighter..'?
This is from an email to Gus in April 2014. Gus, as some of you know, went on to sell plans based on many aircraft and his style is unique to him, just as Jack's was unique. Jack's job, being a performance engineer, certainly involved data. Data and the results of Jack's favorite wing construction style were the subject of Jack's article in the March 1976 issue of RCM 'Built Up or Sheet Wings?'

This is another of Jack's short articles and we find one of the smiling Headley girls posing with one of Jack's Orange Julius (See Blog #35 )wings. The question the article asked was 'How did the weight of the aircraft compare with the wing construction method?' (Starwalt paraphrase) Jack does not try to hide his lack of love for cutting out ribs. Frankly, except for the cost of balsa, I think today's obsession with the KF 'airfoil' has its basis in the tedious task of rib cutting. Jack's all sheet wings, a common construction method for many of today's Asian sourced ARFs, uses fewer ribs than an open-bay covered wing. Jack put the question to the test with data collected and with good doses of Headley humor mixed in.

I have attached the entire artice and an enlarged section of the data chart from the article for your review.

What is the answer?
Depends on the size of the wing, but up to 300 square inches, they were about the same with only about a 20% increase in weight beyond that number.