Dec 04, 2015, 02:10 PM
Thread OP

What are LiPo Internal Resistance "normal" values?

At what point should I be concerned about differences in internal resistances between cells?

I've searched around and here's all that I could find on "ideal" internal resistance measurements.

http://www.rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/#lipo_IR
Quote:
Based on my online research, combined with my own experience and findings, I would say, as a general rule, a per cell rating of between 0-6 mΩ is as good as it gets. Between 7 and 12 mΩ is reasonable. 12 to 20 mΩ is where you start to see the signs of aging on a battery, and beyond 20mΩ per cell, you'll want to start thinking about retiring the battery pack.
Here's why I'm asking:
I'm new to the hobby and I have a new Hobbyzone F4U Corsair arriving in a few days. It's my 2nd plane. The first is a Sport Cub S.

The Cub takes1s batteries, which are simple and easy (stick one in the USB charger and when the light turns off, it's ready)

The F4U takes 3s batteries, so I had to buy equipment and learn up on multiple-cell LiPo batteries.

I'm using these batteries (Floureon 3S 25C 11.1V 2200mAh)
and this charger (SKYRC iMAX B6AC V2)

Today, I set up the charger and started learning how to use it. The batteries were about 3.8v per cell, but the internal resistance has me a bit concerned.

Battery-1 has the following per-cell readings:
7 - 5 - 6 mΩ
3.80 - 3.82 - 3.86 Volts

Battery-2 has the following per-cell readings:
12 - 6 - 6 mΩ
3.86 - 3.86 - 3.80 Volts

The first battery seems fine, but 12 mΩ reading on Battery-2, Cell-1 seems off both because it's high (according to the above post) and because it's twice as high as the other two cells.