Nov 25, 2015, 12:16 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Quad instead of SIM to learn to fly

I am very new to the hobby still. I bought a Super Cub S and went to the local approved park and got advice from the experienced guys. All of them told me to buy a SIM. I went to my LHS and I just couldn't justify spending $130 on a SIM. So, I bought a cheap Hubsan quad for $38 on Amazon. I practiced on the quad each day and I swear, the stick controls, sensitivity and response and feedback directly applied to learning to fly the Super Cub. I think it made for a great trainer. I am getting fairly competent on the Super Cub now and never used a SIM.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 25, 2015, 12:58 AM
Ultra_rc
This is a great simulator to learn to fly mini quads on, it works on mac and windows, and If you need help later if you build a mini quad there are more videos to help you on my channel, like fpv setups, fpv goggles some other stuff as well
Fpv free rider (4 min 9 sec)
Nov 25, 2015, 03:44 AM
If a quad helps you (rather surprisingly) then go for it. But cost is not really the factor you're making it since there are several cheap or even free simulators which can teach new learners quite a bit. You don't have to buy the most expensive best-advertised simulators.

Steve
Nov 25, 2015, 04:20 AM
I got an old version of Phoenix RC (I think it was Phoenix 3) off eBay for around 20 and upgraded it for free to the latest version. I practised on that for about half a year then when I next tried flying I was fine. That sim must have saved me at least 100!
I'm surprised you managed to learn on a quad, the stick movements are pretty different.