Nov 22, 2015, 10:27 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

What went wrong

I almost had a catastrophe today. I was flying my Walkera Runner 250 with my Turnigy 9x transmitter. I was adjusting the trim during flight with the trim buttons when suddenly I lost control of the quad. The Turnigy beeped and said system error on the screen. The controls were dead and the quad was headed up and away from me. I thought it was a goner. I turned the Turnigy off then back on and thank God I regained control of the quad.

What caused this? I'm fairly new to this and this was a first for me. Luckily nothing bad happened but I'm a little worried because I have no idea why this happened.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 22, 2015, 11:04 PM
Walkera, Turnigy, what could possibly go wrong?
Nov 22, 2015, 11:17 PM
Your Tx stopped talking to your Rx, that's what wrong.

Check/update your Tx firmware, maybe it's a bug that result in a system error. You can try to reproduce the bug by holding your quad and go crazy with trimming again?
Nov 23, 2015, 06:45 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatR
Walkera, Turnigy, what could possibly go wrong?
I laughed.

As an aside, Pat, maybe this is the guy that killed the horse?
Nov 23, 2015, 09:07 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooom101
...snip... What caused this? I'm fairly new to this and this was a first for me. Luckily nothing bad happened but I'm a little worried because I have no idea why this happened.
Don`t know why or what happened BUT you really have no need to trim a multirotor. Doesn't your flight controller work properly keeping the model level ?!?!?
Nov 23, 2015, 09:57 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Don`t know why or what happened BUT you really have no need to trim a multirotor. Doesn't your flight controller work properly keeping the model level ?!?!?
To add to this, trims should be disabled when flying a multi rotor. Your FC should handle this and in fact most say to ensure all trims are zeroed before calibrating.