Nov 21, 2015, 02:54 AM
jofro
Thread OP
Question

"X-29" slope soarer - maiden success.

I have never managed to get to this field in our great hobby, but just managed to confiscate this un-usual model built some 20 years ago as a slope soarer by a great modeller from some magazine plans, never completed but I'm converting it to EDF power. Anyone still flying it?
Last edited by jofro; Dec 05, 2015 at 03:22 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 21, 2015, 10:34 PM

might not perform well

I think your wing is too thin for power. Powered planes generally have thicker wings to slow them down better on final. With the added weight, motor in back and battery up front, you also may not have the pitch authority intended by the sloper's design.

I'm no expert, but have heard of difficulties in crossing over.

That looks like a terrific subject, and I haven't seen one fly.

good luck
Dave
Nov 22, 2015, 02:52 AM
jofro
Thread OP
This one actually has great wing profile, flat bottom and nicely curved top pretty thick at the root. Most if my own design EDF jets have no wing profile, flat as a plank and fly like magic. (pics) Even with the added weight it will be light for its size. The only challenge will be to set correct mix of front and rear elevator and the thrust line of my power unit. I love the challenge.
Nov 22, 2015, 05:35 AM
Thats something special, no doubt about that. If you have something like that (a little off the normal) and wants it to fly I think in many cases you will get a long way just by keeping it as light as possible.

You may want to be able to adjust things like the fan thrust angle and cg, perhaps by shimming it and remount it, I would have that in mind.

Nice picture - a big flat field invites to some smooth landings most times I dont have the luxary of a nice landing field and a plane like that in balsa would most likely be damaged every landing. Thats one of the things I miss with slope gliders compared to powered - smooth landings and takeoff.