Nov 20, 2015, 07:04 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Lesson Learned about Interpreting Plans

I'm building a Sig Somethin' Extra kit. I just learned a lesson about interpreting the plans. I looked at this former on the plans and it says "FACING FORWARD".

I took that to mean that the viewer of the drawing is facing forward (towards the nose of the plane). I was wrong. What they meant was that the side of the former they are showing is facing the front of the plane.

The direction is important because the holes for the pushrod tubes are going to be in different locations if you have the piece flipped the wrong way.

Dang. My fault for not thoroughly investigating before gluing.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 20, 2015, 08:42 PM
Culper Junior
I took that to mean that the viewer of the drawing is facing forward (towards the nose of the plane).

I've been building for over 55 years and that is how I would interpret that note on the plans.

Facing forward means just that.
Nov 20, 2015, 09:32 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeronca52
I took that to mean that the viewer of the drawing is facing forward (towards the nose of the plane).

I've been building for over 55 years and that is how I would interpret that note on the plans.

Facing forward means just that.
Yeah that's what I thought.... But the person who made the plans was thinking the other way around.

I admire SIG and all they have done for the hobby, but I must say I find these instructions very lacking. 90% of the information is communicated in written statements, the other 10% with some small, poor resolution photographs. Photographs, not drawings. Drawings would be much better. A good drawing would have made this crystal clear.

What's funny is the photograph in the instructions was taken at just the right angle to perfectly block the orientation of the holes from view.

Whatever, couple minutes with a dremel and its all fixed.
Nov 20, 2015, 09:51 PM
Culper Junior