Nov 19, 2015, 02:28 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Hi All ,A little help please ?

Hi All. I am pretty new to building a setup from scratch. I am hopin some here with knowledge would throw some my way. I have a 33" delta force hull that i am building up.

I have 2x 5s , 4000maH 30c batteries (plan on parallel)
160A turnigy aquastar. , i know its a little small
4074 1050Kv motor low Kv i know

Anyway, i bouht them as a package , its done now....
i was planning on running the 1050 but unsure of a prop size. I figure i want a speed of about 25mph. I figure it should run forever on the batteries with this motor. Does that seem a fair call without stressing the setup ?

Question 1 . What prop size for the 1050 ?

I am also looking at pushing the boat a fair bit faster. I have searched the web all over and keep getting conflictiong comments. I want to push the boat to around 50mph or more. I realise my esc will die eventually pending on prop. I have found that for 5s i will need somewhre between 1750Kv and 2200Kv.

Question 2 . Can anyone narrow the gap in Kv rating for 5s anymore than that.

Question 3 . What prope can i start with on the motor from question 2

Cheers All, i look forward to your advice

Doc
to remove ads between posts
Nov 19, 2015, 03:42 AM
5s ? 2200kv is way high for a mono

1700-1900kv more suitable i think

a 4074 will get it close to 50 mph , a size bigger would be better
starting with a 41 mm or 43 mm 1.4 p depending on the kv

i use cnc props , hate the balancing....
Nov 19, 2015, 03:49 AM
Thread OP
Thanks mate. So if i can find something in the 4074 can size around 1750/1850 kv range it should go pretty well with a 41 to 43 prop ? .

I am guessing the 1050kv is not much good for anything on this boat
Nov 19, 2015, 04:59 AM
yep , but buy a motor with some quality
Tp , leopard....
bigger budget :lehner ,neu...
if you still got to buy ; pick a size 4082 would be my recommandation

1050 Kv : a least 8s to get some power out off it
Nov 19, 2015, 05:43 AM