On Board Glow Drivers. Discussion Q&A - RC Groups
Nov 08, 2015, 07:14 PM
Bret Martin
Discussion

On Board Glow Drivers. Discussion Q&A

I use all 4 stroke, mostly cowled in, and some inverted. I love the on board glow drivers. I have been using Sullivan for many years. When properly set up I just turn it on, hit the starter, and fly. They will sit there an idle for a long as it takes to get to the flight line.
Recently I have noticed several others. Many have been out for a long time but I have no personal experience with them. I just ordered a SwitchGlo Pro unit for a small plane because you can use the receiver battery. Anybody have one and maybe programming advise?
Hopefully we can discuss and get answers for various OBG systems.

I know there are people that swear by CDI ignition systems even for glow engines.
CDI is a great system but this thread is for us glow plug nuts that want to use on board glow and/or experiment with them.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 08, 2015, 08:16 PM
I have been using 4 cycle glow engines since 1976 and own at least 50 of them from the little OS20 up to the OS 5 cylinder and all the OS four cylinders. Several Saitos and Enyas. Never needed a on board glow driver and never had any problems.
Nov 08, 2015, 10:01 PM
Bret Martin
Quote:
Originally Posted by datsunguy
I have been using 4 cycle glow engines since 1976 and own at least 50 of them from the little OS20 up to the OS 5 cylinder and all the OS four cylinders. Several Saitos and Enyas. Never needed a on board glow driver and never had any problems.
Right, I have had many brands of 2 and 4 cycle engines that I didn't use or need on board glow. I started using them for convenience and looks. I have a 1/4 scale Cosmic Wind that has nothing sticking out except an exhaust tube and is cool to fire up without an igniter.