Oct 19, 2015, 12:18 PM
Free Falling
Thread OP
Discussion

Audio hum in the feed when connecting a camera with power to Vector? Ground loop?

The gist of my issue is that when i connect either the surveilzone cc1529 or the runcam hd (with 3 pins, one being power in either case) to the leads off my vector, this results in a background hum or buzz in the audio feed (even without a microphone or audio line being sent out)..

If you unplug the camera, the sound goes away..

To me this sounds like a ground loop issue, though i'm still a novice in tracing how to fix this, i was pretty sure i had things setup to avoid a ground loop, well at least with the ESC's.

Without a diagram this is basically how i have things wired..

Battery --- power connector --- Vector Current Sensor --- ESC connector..

All of this goes back to the Vector.. and i also have a 5 amp ubec that fees off the + - of the vector current sensor and plugs into the left side of the vector, giving 5v to that left side (yeah i know i didnt really need it, but rather than trying to run esc to the vector to provide the 5amp, i chose to use a separate supply)..

The place i knew i had to prevent a ground loop was at the wing, where i have a single servo connector coming off of the two motors.. on that connector i pulled the red pin to avoid a ground loop at least here.

I'm not sure where else i'd have a ground loop.. i'm guessing the red pins going back to the camera, but those need power.

The vector has 5v and 12v options for the camera power.. i've tried both as well (at least with the cc1529 which supports 5-12v etc)..

Any thoughts out there?

Thanks in advance
to remove ads between posts
Oct 19, 2015, 05:36 PM
Free Falling
Thread OP
Ok I tried removing the bec power from the vector while using the runcam hd cable with the red power connector pulled, so strictly one power source going to the vector.. same audio hum.. I guess this rules out a ground loop.. back to the drawing board and unsure at this point