Oct 15, 2015, 08:03 AM
Lift is where you find it.
Thread OP
Discussion

Decrypting TopModel CZ assembly sheets

I'm about to launch into the build (or rather assembly- it's not really a build per se) of a TopModel Astra and find myself a little bemused by the instruction manual. This is my first time doing one of these "pictorially assembled" models and I'm sure that once you get the hang of it, most of them go together about the same. I think I understand most of it, but I want to solicit advice from those who have been there and done that: are there any pitfalls to avoid while assembling from this kind of instruction sheet? Any suggestions or caveats are appreciated.

For instance, is it safe to assume that "dry-bond adhesive" refers to CA?

BTW- for those of you who haven't seen a kit from TopModel, let me say that they offer extremely high quality and impressive stuff. I'm sure there will be other TopModel kits in my future.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 15, 2015, 09:58 AM
That thing almost hit me
Generally, any substance that binds two surfaces together.

Dry - to change the physical state of an adhesive or an adherend by the loss of solvent constituents by evaporation or absorption, or both.

So, dry bond could be white glue (aliphatic resin), CA, or epoxy.
Oct 15, 2015, 10:15 AM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoed
Generally, any substance that binds two surfaces together.

Dry - to change the physical state of an adhesive or an adherend by the loss of solvent constituents by evaporation or absorption, or both.

So, dry bond could be white glue (aliphatic resin), CA, or epoxy.
Not epoxy for sure, at least in the context of this instruction set- epoxy specified by the word "epoxy" at several points. Also, I noticed another little bottle image elsewhere that had a lightening bolt on it. I would guess that's CA.

The dry bond is also noted as "Chemopren". Possibly something like Duco or what we used to call "airplane glue" with acetone as a solvent?