Oct 14, 2015, 12:36 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Critique my DLG Wing Mold Model

I am teaching myself CAD and (soon, hopefully) CAM, with the eventual goal of cutting my own molds for DLG wings and tails. Tail molds were pretty easy using some of the great directions Tom Siler gave in another thread, but I struggled quite a bit making full wing mold models. I'm new to this, and I'm coming up the very steep learning curve of Rhino 3D and having a blast.

With wings, having multiple airfoils, plus twist does evil things to the parting plane, and I found I had to learn a whole new set of Rhino skills in order to model them correctly.

I think I may have cracked it now, but since I've never done this before, and I still have yet to cut molds, I'm looking for any advice you more experienced CAD guys may have for the new guy about how to design good wing molds.

Hopefully you can help me skip some of the mistakes you probably made when you were learning this stuff.

About this wing:

The wing is an absolutely stock Synergy II wing, designed by Gerald Taylor (a.k.a. "G_T"), the 20141225i version (the latest as of this writing). Full details here. The wing planform and geometry are exactly as Gerald specified to the best of my ability to model it.

Tom Siler's Rhino project of the Synergy II wing (here in the thread above) was extremely helpful and essentially got me over the hump figuring out wing modeling, but since my goal was to teach myself CAD and mold design, I chose not to just use his shapes to construct my model. His model is full of interesting hints and techniques that I'm still learning from, and I recommend checking it out if anyone is interested.

The model's too big to upload here, so here's a link to the file on DropBox:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xyeq4s0po2...i%205.zip?dl=0

Any and all comments and suggestions are welcome - especially advice that will save me headaches in the future.