Oct 12, 2015, 11:02 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Looking to take the next step after WL 911

Title pretty much says it all. Let me start off by saying I am still pretty much a rank beginner at RC rotary wing flying. Most of my stick time has been with 250 size multirotors, an RTF, folowed by a kit build and now several scratch builds. I am a lot better builder than flyer so far which is why I have resorted to flying scratch build wooden frames which are easy and cheap to repair.

The wife recently bought us a pair of WL Toys 911's one for me and one for her. She lost interest fairly quickly but I found them pretty easy to fly after the 250 multi rotors.

What I am looking for now is something I can fly in my backyard and not be quite so much at the mercy of the wind and perhaps even a 6 channel for a bit more of a challange. The backyard has a lot of tree hazards ( 2 huge live oaks and a low canopy) as well as a couple of buildings. 250 class would probably be largest I want to go with at this time and even that might be a bit much. Something I can use a Tactic 6 channel receiver in would be a bonus and a kit build would be considered although I would prefer a BNF or RTF
Any and all suggestions welcome
to remove ads between posts
Oct 13, 2015, 07:50 AM
Thread OP
Judging from the lack of responses I guess I did not ask this question correctly. It have narrowed it down to either the Trex 250, Blade 250, and Ares 300 in that order on my own and if anyone has any input on these three I would be happy to have it.

On the Trex 250 , it appears that any 6 channel receiver/radio will work, either PPM or PWM. Am I correct in that ?
Last edited by hound53; Oct 13, 2015 at 08:01 AM.
Oct 13, 2015, 10:28 PM
Cranky old fart
1. Use of Tactic radio gear really limits response. It isn't popular and it's capabilities, compatability, ease of use and general quality are not well known.

2. A Trex 250 (or most other 250 kits are difficult to fly and very fussy to setup.