Sep 29, 2015, 11:58 PM
Faster is Better
Thread OP
Build Log

Leading Edge Gliders P-80 Shooting Star

Working on my new P-80.

I'm not going to do a play by play build log cause Jack has that base covered in his build videos, which by the way are awesome.

I am going to make the radio (receiver, servos and battery) completely removable.

What I intend to do is post pic's of the radio compartment installation. I've done a mock up and have the plan in my head. Please understand I am not in any way knocking the traditional way of installing the radio in a EPP glider, It's just that my gliders usually live a long life. I've been flying my DAW KA-6 now for 12 years.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 30, 2015, 01:42 AM
Living the dream
Looking forward to the build.
Sep 30, 2015, 08:25 AM
Watching!
Sep 30, 2015, 03:00 PM
Dunetop Flyer
Always interested in new ways to do things.
Oct 01, 2015, 12:05 AM
Faster is Better
Thread OP
I'm warning you guys, this may go kinda of slow, I'm a slow builder but it works out in the end.

I just thought by starting this thread, it would commit me to posting this modification.

More to come, I promise.
Oct 02, 2015, 12:35 AM
Faster is Better
Thread OP
OK, first part, aileron servo mount. Nothing exciting here, but I got the ball rolling.

Installed a piece of 1/32" ply over servo cutout on bottom of wing to protect servo. I didn't want to use bottom of servo as a landing skid.

I'm planning on using Hitec HS-225 BB servos for aileron and elevator.

Note the carbon wing spar, top and bottom, per the instructions the spar cutouts will be filled with lightweight filler and the center section fiber-glassed.
Oct 05, 2015, 12:45 AM
Faster is Better
Thread OP

Elevator mounting

I have the elevator servo mount started. I'm not quite done yet but I'm trying to post pictures as I go along. Figured that would be easier.