Sep 20, 2015, 07:57 AM
Thread OP
Question

Training methods?

So I'm trying to do things slow and methodical in order to succeed in this blossoming hobby.
Leading with my first 2 questions.
1. Are there any training guidelines to better my flying skills?
2. What simulators actually use a real tx for training?

I have been racing rc cars on and off for many years and have been in A main finals often so I do have some basic rc skills and experience.
I bought a nano quad 2 months ago and done a fair amount of in house practicing.
I just picked up the new Dromida Vista yesterday to take the next step in the learning process. I have only flown it 3 times so far because the winds have been +10 mph with 15+ gusts. Which I'm sure with a higher quality quad and pilot wouldn't be to much of an issue but for me learning it is not ideal.
So my next 2 questions.
I find myself sliding the throttle up when I go to input a left yaw and when I look to do right yaw I pull the throttle down a bit.
3. Is this partially a factor from using a low quality TX?
4. Are there TX's that have a method of stiffing up the sticks? Which I hope will help my thumb from drifting?

Or do I just need to get better
to remove ads between posts
Sep 20, 2015, 11:20 AM
Childlike Activity for Adults
http://quadcopter101.blogspot.com/

This link may help.

Practice, practice, and more practice and research, research, and research some more.

Good luck

Most RTF mini sized quads do not operate well in +10 mph winds.
Sep 20, 2015, 07:04 PM
Thread OP
Thanks for link. I got some practice in today even with the gusty winds.
Sep 20, 2015, 07:15 PM
FPV Noob
1. practice
2. FPV freerider. I use my Taranis X9D plus with it via USB cable. I believe Hobby King also sells a USB Rx receiver that receives 2.4G control signal and translates it to USB for the computer.
3. only if it's sloppy, otherwise you just need to get better.
4. no. Sticks shouldn't be sloppy though.