Sep 16, 2015, 09:52 AM
Thread OP
Question

all I need is cross hairs.

To be successful at this (SPORT) it think some type of OSD is required.

I'm a newbie, but I know I can do this due to the extensive FP shooters and flying games I have played for years. My screen name SidewinderFSK is from my day of playing Forsaken. I was rated at the 10 ten in the world.

Lag and ping time during the early 90's 9600 baud modems limited who earned the top spot.

Sorry sometime I dwell in the past.

Anyways the camera needs a cross hair, maybe voltage but a cross hair is key. What is the cheapest, lightest OSD that will serve my needs.

I have been training with a FPV Style quad that came with some crappy 3D Clairvoyance goggles but the Bigflyshark flight controller has a GPS and works well.

Today I am moving up to a Emax 280 and Skyzone GS950 goggles, all I need is cross hairs.

By the way if you have a flight sim with out a fpv quad, pick a fast small plane, tweak it a bit and train. Put a small dot centered on your monitor and rocket past the obstacles
Last edited by sidewinderFSK; Sep 16, 2015 at 10:09 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 16, 2015, 10:13 AM
The crosshair is usually provided by the OSD, not the camera, although you could put a physical crosshair in front of the quad
Some flight controllers have something that marks the center of the screen, though usually it is an artificial horizon.

Personally I don't think a crosshair is as useful on an aircraft as it is in a first person shooter, as the center of the screen isn't necesarily where the craft is going. Next to wind/yaw/strafing, the speed affects how much tilted down the view is, so the dot doesn't really show anything useful if it's stationary.
Sep 16, 2015, 10:26 AM
Thread OP
Personally I do think it is, and I know the OSD is separate from the camera.

Jet fighter pilots have cross hairs, believe me it will help simplify the attack and exit.