Sep 15, 2015, 08:16 AM
Thread OP
Alert

Hi guys, im in need of your observations on my first build

Here's my first build, "YELLOW", maiden last saturday, my first time to fly rc-plane as well.

My First Scratchbuilt RC-Trainer "YELLOW"s Maiden Flight (4 min 3 sec)

I think control surfaces are to reactive for a trainer(stick scaling shall be reduce)and a bit fast than expected..i want it slow amap.
Since it's my first time to fly rcplane, i hardly notice some flight defects which most of you may observe, however it flies at 50% throtle, i think it doesnt self level, it stay oncourse when all sticks are released(i maybe wrong)..kindly watch the video and ill be all willing to here from you some observations .Btw, nose dives occur after climb due to insufficient power(motor-prop) and sudden climb or drop is pilot error(excessive stick movement)

MATERIAL:
Styro Foam Reinforced with
Packing tape, Duct Tape and BBQ skewer spar

EECTRONICS:
1000kv Motor, 30amp ESC, 8060Plastic Props, 3-9g Servos (no rudder), RG831B DMSS reciever and 1000mah 11.1 Volts Lipo

463g AUW, 1300mm WS, 175mm Wing Cord.

Its flies for 6mins in about 1v consumption(12.6 to 11.6V), lipo is unreliable so have to cut flight immediately.

I think the build went well and i cant be less happier about it, however im sure there are things i may oversee since im still new on this stuff.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 15, 2015, 10:45 PM
Scratchbuild Aviation
the specs seems normal . given you manage to keep it in the air long enough. typically most builds out of EPS of that size endup at that weight,

my PX4 us 400g roughly flying on 1940 KV Emax 2205

also if it stays straight forward flight on control release at any orientation then its a pattern style plane design. im amaze not all newbies can fly Pattern planes unless they have CP heli experience or multirotors w/o self level function turn on.

whats your airfoil type Symmetrical or flat bottom