Sep 15, 2015, 01:36 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Need help identifying source of vibration (Vortex)

Hey All,

I'm relatively new to FPV/racer quads, and jumped right in by getting the ImmersionRC Vortex. As such, I've been spoiled by the on-board pro tunings and am not very experienced with customizing my PIDs.

Today, i went to Ummagawd's Precision tuning, which I absolutely love the feel of. The only problem is that I am now getting a slight vibration in my flying. I did not notice this while flying today, but when I got home to watch my actioncam footage it was immediately obvious to me. I could hear it in the sounds from the motors, and see it in the video.

Due to my lack of experience, I am not sure what the culprit is for this. I just received my prop balancer today in the mail after I went flying, so the props weren't balanced (I know, rookie mistake). However, I have flown with these props on other pro tunings without issue. Similarly, it was extremely windy today when I was flying - but I have encountered strong winds before and not had this problem. This leads me to believe that it is a PID issue, which still seems odd to me since others don't seem to be experiencing this with similar set ups (vortex on this tuning). I'm a little overwhelmed with PID research, and certainly don't want to make the problem worse by guessing wrong. So, I was hoping someone here could lend me their expertise and give me some guidance on how to sort this out. All of your help is much appreciated.

Here is a sample of the flight video to show you what I mean:
Sample of Vibration Issue - Vortex (1 min 12 sec)

Please let me know if you would like to see more of the flight to properly identify the issue; and thanks in advance.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 16, 2015, 10:22 AM
First of all, PID tuning is unique to each quad... Yes a set-up for another vortex running the same kit will be close, but it'll never be exactly the same (partly due to pilot preferences)