Sep 12, 2015, 12:45 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Best EPP 3D With 600-1200mm Wingspan

Hi All,

I'm new to RC planes. I've bought a few that I like. Some I'll have to wait to fly because they're for advanced flyers. I couldn't help myself because I like them so much.

Now, I need to buy a couple of small slow 3D planes I can fly in my back yard. I live on 2 acres but only a very small portion is mostly cleared. Outside this small area are trees and wire fences as obstacles.

I'm thinking 3D planes with 600-900mm wingspan that can be flown very slowly is what I need here. However, I've seen videos of planes with 1200mm and a bit longer wingspan that THOSE pilots could easily fly in this space.

I want EPP because I WILL crash them.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 12, 2015, 09:02 PM
I have a 32" Twisted Hobbies Crack Yak that is a great flyer for small spaces and TOUGH!! It's had more than a few hard encounters with the ground, and with a bit of CA it is back up in the air, no worse for the wear.
Sep 12, 2015, 09:12 PM
Thread OP
It's interesting you mention the Crack Yak. I've seen some intriguing videos of that plane.
Sep 12, 2015, 09:35 PM
It is an outstanding little 3D plane. You can fly it at walking speed and it is incredibly responsive.
Sep 12, 2015, 09:42 PM
Yak 54 1100mm at NitroPlanes.com

It is an airplane for dummies.
Sep 13, 2015, 07:23 AM
Thread OP
An airplane for dummies is precisely what I need.

I've watched several videos and both of these look like wonderful flyers for my back yard. I think I'm more interested in the smaller planes due to my limited fly space. The Crack Yak Mini looks fantastic as does the Mini MXS-C D1. These both have 610mm wingspans.

Any more suggestions for easy 3D EPP models with 24-30 inch wingspans?
Last edited by ignernt_dweeb; Sep 13, 2015 at 08:26 AM.
Sep 13, 2015, 01:28 PM