Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by DigitalEntity, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Oct 26, 2015, 06:14 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
Just tried to compile-out the CLI. Freed 19kb! We have almost 15% flash occupied by just a configuration tool that doesn't do anything in flight. We need something to replace it.

There is a discusion on GitHub regarding configurator re-design, we were talking about implementing advanced configuration with direct access to all config parameters (like CLI, but from the GUI):


What do you think?
It would make the config easier but will it take less space?
How do we then bring back our configs?
I think the backup button should backup all variables and restore should restore them so we don't have to do dump and the copy and paste action.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 26, 2015, 06:16 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
How Can I trim it in flight?
I've never done it and it looks like it is always drifting one way.
Hover, note in what direction it drifts, land, disarm.
Do a stick combo to trim the board: Throttle up + right stick in the direction opposite to drift and back to center (i.e. if its drifting right: Throttle up + Roll left and to the center). You should see a led blinking briefly. Each right stick "click" trim about 0.2 deg.

Repeat until your copter flies perfectly level.
Oct 26, 2015, 06:21 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
It would make the config easier but will it take less space?
How do we then bring back our configs?
I think the backup button should backup all variables and restore should restore them so we don't have to do dump and the copy and paste action.
It will take much less space as we'll drop all the human-readable command processing and io. It will need some modifitations to the MSP protocol, but that's easy.

Backing up and restoring with this feature will be trivial and much more reliable than current backup/restore feature (even more reliable than CLI dumps, as it will be able to store/restore all PID and rate profiles at once).
Oct 26, 2015, 06:27 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
Hover, note in what direction it drifts, land, disarm.
Do a stick combo to trim the board: Throttle up + right stick in the direction opposite to drift and back to center (i.e. if its drifting right: Throttle up + Roll left and to the center). You should see a led blinking briefly. Each right stick "click" trim about 0.2 deg.

Repeat until your copter flies perfectly level.
Thank you very much
Oct 26, 2015, 06:30 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
It will take much less space as we'll drop all the human-readable command processing and io. It will need some modifitations to the MSP protocol, but that's easy.

Backing up and restoring with this feature will be trivial and much more reliable than current backup/restore feature (even more reliable than CLI dumps, as it will be able to store/restore all PID and rate profiles at once).
I guess you will save the config as binary data like in the blackbox log.
Oct 26, 2015, 06:43 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
I guess you will save the config as binary data like in the blackbox log.
Configurator will have a mapping of config ID's and human readable names. Dump will look like this:

for known parameters:
rxrange_ch1_min=1000
rxrange_ch1_max=2000

for unknown parameters
0x540001DE=0.05
0x540001C1=154
Oct 26, 2015, 06:46 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Just did accel calibration on my SPRacingF3:
Code:
acczero_x = 18
acczero_y = 91
acczero_z = 692
accgain_x = 4085
accgain_y = 4116
accgain_z = 4013
Z-offset and gain is crazy!
Oct 26, 2015, 06:53 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
Just did accel calibration on my SPRacingF3:
Code:
acczero_x = 18
acczero_y = 91
acczero_z = 692
accgain_x = 4085
accgain_y = 4116
accgain_z = 4013
Z-offset and gain is crazy!
Interesting, my numbers look like this
set acczero_x = 157
set acczero_y = 92
set acczero_z = -981
set accgain_x = 4079
set accgain_y = 4092
set accgain_z = 4034
Oct 26, 2015, 06:56 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
Interesting, my numbers look like this
set acczero_x = 157
set acczero_y = 92
set acczero_z = -981
set accgain_x = 4079
set accgain_y = 4092
set accgain_z = 4034
Your acczero_z looks very high. Does you accel z-axis read 1g when level and -1g when upside down?
Oct 26, 2015, 07:07 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
Your acczero_z looks very high. Does you accel z-axis read 1g when level and -1g when upside down?
It's 1.01 leveled and 0.99 upside down
Oct 26, 2015, 07:25 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
It's 1.01 leveled and 0.99 upside down
That's nearly perfect. I noticed that accel tend to drift a little with temperature, so 1% error is acceptable.
Oct 26, 2015, 07:37 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
That's nearly perfect. I noticed that accel tend to drift a little with temperature, so 1% error is acceptable.
I find the calibration quite easy to do but I've noticed that the configurator just outputs calibration complete after each step.
Are you planing to put some step instructions in there?
Oct 26, 2015, 07:48 PM
Registered User
gregswf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalEntity
That's nearly perfect. I noticed that accel tend to drift a little with temperature, so 1% error is acceptable.
As far as I can tell the AH looks much better now.
Do you use temperature readings for any compensation?
Oct 26, 2015, 09:06 PM
Build, fly, crash, repeat :-D
DigitalEntity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
I find the calibration quite easy to do but I've noticed that the configurator just outputs calibration complete after each step.
Are you planing to put some step instructions in there?
I might, but configurator is not a high priority at the moment. I try to keep things mostly compatible with the "official" configurator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregswf
As far as I can tell the AH looks much better now.
Do you use temperature readings for any compensation?
No, not yet.
Oct 26, 2015, 09:20 PM
Registered User
What's the status of auto-declination? Is there... nevermind I just realized I'll be able to see if it's working in EZ-GUI.


Quick Reply
Message:
Thread Tools