Jul 07, 2004, 10:09 AM
Thread OP

Villain EX vs Aqua Jet 775

Hi everyone I'm new to the boating scene and have some questions. I've read most of the threads on this site and have found them very informative!!

My father inlaw was given a Kyosho SunStorm 600 for X-Mas last year. Ran it for the first time last weekend and I was very amazed at how well it ran. First time I have ever seen a RC boat run and now I'm hooked We live in MN and have a cabin on a secluded lake(very calm!), I also have a large pond across my street

I have been looking at the Cen Aqua Jet 775 or the Traxxas Villain EX. I've done searches and read the reviews that I could find on each. I'm looking for something that's pretty fast out of the box and can easily be upgraded if I want. Run time is another factor as I don't want something that every 3 minutes I have to change batteries. I realize that as I upgrade runtime's will get shorter do to larger motors, etc. Figure the Villain EX would eat batteries faster than the Aqua Jet as it has 2 motors. I've read posts discussing that once you get the Villain EX over 30-35+mph the hull becomes unstable? Would the same hold true for the Aqua Jet? With full upgrades which boat will be faster?

I'm looking for any information on hull design, motors, upgrades, runtime, etc between these two boats or a boat that maybe I should consider.

Thanks for all your help!
Matt
to remove ads between posts
Jul 07, 2004, 12:21 PM
Useful Idiot
I'd guess the Villain has a higher potential top speed, but that comes with shorter life span of 2 x 540 motors over the Cen's 700. Direct drive and fewer drive line parts should also favour reliability for the aqua jet. First upgrade for the Villain should be water cooling. Both would be better with metal props. Have a look at http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/MainPage.htm
Jul 07, 2004, 03:06 PM
Full Throttle and No Regrets!