Thread Tools
Dec 19, 2016, 03:52 PM
Registered User
Meantime, I have something for insiders who want to try new 2 byte telemetry values:
Temperature
External Voltage
Pressure
Speed
Altitude
Flight mode
Armed
Distance
Vertical speed
Acc X
Acc Y
Acc Z
Climb rate
Battery current
Comps heading
CoG
GPS status
Below you can find my MAVLink to IBus sensor translator/emulator
It is not precompiled. Update of radio with provided on github FW is needed.
https://github.com/qba667/MAVLinkToIbus
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 19, 2016, 10:59 PM
rookie
I have tried every updater on Benb0jangles github with no success,, the mod recovery uploader finds the radio and says upload success but still the radio doesn't boot up .. Using Thoms BJCT updater, I can ping the radio and get back firmware version and it changes every time i load a different firmware but still no screen comes on and yes to get any of the uploaders to connect to the radio you have to hold the throttle and yaw trim buttons down and right while powering up the radio.. The flying 3d radio looks to have identical board as fs i6 even the chip has the same # but stock it was totally crippled , no mixing, no dr , no trainer mode, no model memory ,, in fact about all you could change on it was sub trim .. I have seen it written that this radio has a different bootloader than the i6 and i'm inclined to believe this seeing as how it will accept the uploads but still doesn't boot up .. I have no earthly idea how to replace the bootloader or even where i could find the files to do it, I do know how to replace the bootloader on an arduino pro mini because someone had it documented and I can follow instructions.. I appreciate all the hard work you guys put into this , i wish i was knowledgeable enough to help with it but right now I'm still just learning about it and with your help I'll keep learning .. Thanks for all y'all have done to make this little radio a true performer and i hope to get mine back up so i too can enjoy the benefits y'all have given us ..
Last edited by cwlker1960; Dec 19, 2016 at 11:01 PM. Reason: spelling
Dec 19, 2016, 11:41 PM
Registered User
If bootloader is different even when image is copied correctly it will not boot because of references to bootloader code or maybe the offset was different so all addressing is wrong . To make radio working again you need to replace whole flash content. It is possible with St link or other jtag/swd interface. Start address is 0x0 size is 64KB. Full image can be found on GitHub.
So in more details you need to connect to debug port of the radio:
https://nathan.vertile.com/assets/im...03255_prev.JPG (image from Nathan Tsoi blog)
to connect you need mentioned before ST-Link, this one should be fine
http://www.banggood.com/ST-LINK-V2-E...-p-973898.html
The full flash can be downloaded from:
https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlyS...s/fsi6_ori.bin
How to flash with ST-Link Utility
  • Downlaod software install drivers use this page for more details http://www.emcu.it/ST-LINKv2/ST-LINKv2.html
  • Radio must be on - mcu must be powered.
  • Make connections between debug port and ST-Link
  • connect ST-Link to your PC
  • Launch ST-Link Utility
  • Set the Address field to 0x00000000 and Size to 0x10000
  • Click Connect to the target
  • Click Save to keep a backup actual flash content - then you can send me it I will check what is wrong
  • Download TGY firmware 1.6 for iA6B:
  • Click open and select original I6 firmware
  • Click Program Verify
  • Click Disconnect
  • Unplug ST-Link
Last edited by qba667; Dec 21, 2016 at 02:41 PM.
Dec 20, 2016, 09:14 PM
rookie
Quote:
Originally Posted by qba667
If bootloader is different even when image is copied correctly it will not boot because of references to bootloader code or maybe the offset was different so all addressing is wrong . To make radio working again you need to replace whole flash content. It is possible with St link or other jtag/swd interface. Start address is 0x0 size is 64KB. Full image can be found on GitHub.
So in more details you need to connect to debug port of the radio:
https://nathan.vertile.com/assets/im...03255_prev.JPG (image from Nathan Tsoi blog)
to connect you need mentioned before ST-Link, this one should be fine
http://www.banggood.com/ST-LINK-V2-E...-p-973898.html
The full flash can be downloaded from:
https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlyS...s/fsi6_ori.bin
How to flash with ST-Link Utility
  • Downlaod software install drivers use this page for more details http://www.emcu.it/ST-LINKv2/ST-LINKv2.html
  • Make connections between debug port and ST-Link
  • connect ST-Link to your PC
  • Launch ST-Link Utility
  • Set the Address field to 0x00000000 and Size to 0x10000
  • Click Connect to the target
  • Click Save to keep a backup actual flash content - then you can send me it I will check what is wrong
  • Download TGY firmware 1.6 for iA6B:
  • Click open and select original I6 firmware
  • Click Program Verify
  • Click Disconnect
  • Unplug ST-Link
Thank you QBA , that was what i was looking for,, banggood was sold out on the link you gave so i got this one from ebay,,http://www.ebay.com/itm/131990738997?var=431335115997
is it okay? I should have asked before i ordered it..
And i would like to take a minute to remind people what we are all doing here,,People in these forums come up with ideas and solutions and are gracious enough to share it with others.. no one in here owes you or me anything , if you ask nicely , most of the time you will get help , if you come in demanding ,you're probably gonna get ignored or cussed out. and by all means , at least make an attempt to read and figure something out on your own before asking for help. People are more willing to help you when they see you are at least putting some effort towards coming up with a solution.
Dec 21, 2016, 04:51 AM
Fpv adventures

New Telemetry Firmware Updater (needs testing)


Name: Mavlink-screen-1.jpg
Views: 18
Size: 24.5 KB
Description:

I added qba667's telemetry .BIN file to the updater .EXE so it should be possible to update the i6 transmitter with this firmware. (You will still need to create and programme your Arduino Pro Micro to be a mavlink-to-ibus convertor/adapter).

Name: ibus-i6-idea2.jpg
Views: 49
Size: 51.0 KB
Description:

https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-

Q1)Is it possible to combine both PPM-to-ibus code with Mavlink-to-ibus code, use only one Arduino Pro Micro? 16mhz? Pinout conflicts? hmmm idk...

Q2)I am now wondering if bluetooth passthrough is possible to a tablet/smartphone, because this is what the Rclogger Novax does. Also, it seems the i6x transmitter has been set up with this function as a possibility also (Inside the i6x there is pcb solder location for ESP8266 or BT module). ia6b seems to handle ibus & sbus.

Name: sbus-i6x-idea1.jpg
Views: 76
Size: 124.7 KB
Description:

http://dalybulge.blogspot.co.uk/2015...?view=magazine
Last edited by benbojangles; Dec 21, 2016 at 01:02 PM.
Dec 21, 2016, 05:03 AM
Registered User
ONCLEFLY's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbojangles
Attachment 9622670

I added qba667's telemetry .BIN file to the updater .EXE so it should be possible to update the i6 transmitter with this firmware. (You will still need to create and programme your Arduino Pro Micro to be a mavlink-to-ibus convertor/adapter).

https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-
Very well, thank you.
Dec 21, 2016, 02:08 PM
Registered User
@cwlker1960 yes the st-link will be fine.
@benbojangles
I don't know how @povlhp is generating ppm output but we have still some timers to be used I have used in my code timer0, timer1 (AltSoftSerial for MAVLink) and timer 3 for timing of protocol.
There is already some work done by @unitware to handle both streams but on level of flight controller.
https://github.com/cleanflight/cleanflight/issues/2545
Theoretically I can change the code in IA6B to send both data streams with use of same serial port. And then code to generate PPM can be added to my code - I try to write in way to save cpu cycles but for sure there is number of places to be optimized. For example distance handling method - can someone test it? Mavlink data is being handled when there is nothing to do on sensor port.
Sensors names must be also changed because some of them are just to long. Other option will be to use board with 2 hardware serials then we can connect sensors and servos serials directly. We still need serial for MAVLink so 3 hardware UARTS will be just great (AtMega128?).

Please remember that this code is experimental, but you can adjust names editing my bin file - keep in mind that checksum must be updated after all. Also I want to add more sensors to main screen - I have done it once but now I have to make them configurable . I must say hell of work... sometime I am thinking about buying something opensource
Btw why to not implement all this functionality in flight controller in case of APM we have separated atmega32u2, ibus for sticks can be implemented there.

Please be AWARE that if you decide to send packets more than 2 bytes with IA6B there is additional change necessary in TX to send response to AD packets (some kind of request if TX is supporting long frames). If radio will not response with desired packet it will continue sending AD packets - I have changed this currently on IA6B to send the AC (long telemetry) without response from TX. If someone need to send long telemetry let me know I will provide changed IA6b fw.
The perfect solution will be to implement AD response in TX... If you want to send MALink telemetry we can encapsulate the frames into IBUS frames then you need to extract them from SPI line and pass to Bluetooth module.
Frame on SPI bus looks like:
https://cloud.githubusercontent.com/...2ca9b451bd.png Where my message id BAADFOODBAADFOOD
So I think you can handle it with small ATiny MCU or maybe batter use ESP8266 it has SPI so no need of additional translation is needed. My code must be also changed to encapsulate MAVLINK frames - but this is easy one.
Other option will be to write conversion in TX and send it with use of trainer port. Is anyone willing to code it in assembly?
FW for ia6b sending long frames without response from TX attached to the post.
Last edited by qba667; Dec 21, 2016 at 02:40 PM.
Dec 21, 2016, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Benbo, this firmware is the same provided from qba667 at post #1217 ? Or this is a newer one?
Dec 21, 2016, 05:11 PM
Fpv adventures
Victor, it is the firmware file from here: https://github.com/qba667/MAVLinkToI...e/master/i6/FW

But the firmware .bin might have to be edited so the user can change telemetry parameters, so I am not sure if the updater .exe is the best solution for this telemetry fw code and user. Time will tell.

I think it is a big task for a user to have this up and running, and kudos to the user who succeeds. I think it is a good foundation for APM telemetry through the i6 (the arduino pro mini code is v. smart).

I think it is good for us also because it is going to put pressure on flysky to improve their radios to allow telemetry in future releases.

I think what is likely to happen, is that sbus will be used in future flysky radios over ibus because Ardupilot is already compatible with sbus and I cannot see Ardupilot changing their software to accommodate ibus protocol - You can already flash the APM boards 32u2 chip and change to sbus: http://www.ardupilot.org/copter/docs...tmega32u2.html) also here:
Adding SBUS support to the APM (7 min 49 sec)

I think flysky will allow some type of serial tx/rx in their receivers and transmitters for telemetry., so 'eventually' there will not need to be converter/adapters between APM flight controller and flysky receiver. Just plug and play..,.But eventually. I also think bluetooth connection will be implemented by flysky from looking at their i6x internal pcb they already have ideas like this. It is very clever how qb667 has identified each sensor in the hex code and used the arduino pro mini to match/convert APM serial data. I wish I could interpret Hexadecimal/Binary/Assembly/Machine so easily.
Last edited by benbojangles; Dec 22, 2016 at 03:36 AM.
Dec 26, 2016, 10:12 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbojangles
I think flysky will allow some type of serial tx/rx in their receivers and transmitters for telemetry.
That can be true - I have seen something like pass through functionality in IA6B - possibly - I am not sure but there is some buffers copying on telemetry port - but nothing I can confirm right now.
Dec 26, 2016, 02:11 PM
Unregistered User
emma97's Avatar
I've noticed after reflash when SwB is down other channels are disabled and pretty much fly around randomly as seen in "Display" menu. Does anyone else experience this? I would like to determine if this is a bug in the firmware or I have a defective unit before raising a flag and warning others off.
Dec 27, 2016, 02:55 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by emma97
I've noticed after reflash when SwB is down other channels are disabled and pretty much fly around randomly as seen in "Display" menu. Does anyone else experience this? I would like to determine if this is a bug in the firmware or I have a defective unit before raising a flag and warning others off.
Have you made any hardware changes to SWB? There were no changes to code related to channel data - expect additional "error" assignable as channel.
Dec 27, 2016, 05:46 AM
Unregistered User
emma97's Avatar
No hardware changes and I am referring to previous 10ch firmware. It would be useful to know if any others with stock or any modified firmware have same problem. This has caused at least one crash for me and possibly one other person here.

It's easy to test. Just select a virgin model slot and check sticks on "display" menu. With SwB down do all sticks behave properly?
Dec 27, 2016, 08:45 AM
Registered User
I can test it with debugger next week. But so far I have not seen such issue - once someone complains that timer was started at random time - so I think I can be caused by random stick changes.
Dec 27, 2016, 09:37 AM
Unregistered User
emma97's Avatar
It is very easy to test without debugger or RX. Just look at "Display" screen with switch down. On mine ch1-4 move randomly and don't obey sticks. I don't recall trying SwB down with stock firmware so I'm trying to figure out if it's a bug in old or new firmware or a defective unit or some throttle cut issue.

If I can't get info from other users I will try factory reset and if that don't work reflash with stock image. All of that results in hours of nasty work so it is last resort.


Thread Tools