FlySky FS-i6 8 channels firmware patch! - Page 2 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Sep 14, 2015, 07:57 PM
Various miniquads.
DoubleQuad's Avatar
This sounds awesome!

Can you confirm what receiver you are using to test with?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 15, 2015, 05:07 PM
Registered User
Great stuff indeed! Always nice to see someone teaching more tricks to a piece of closed hardware. Especially if I have one myself
Btw, there is some info about the telemetry protocol in the i10 thread (same protocol), here's some links to a few relevant posts there in case you find them useful in some way:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...3#post30606274
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...8#post31332535
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...9#post31353484
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...9#post31362046
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...0#post31362483
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...3#post31522185
Sep 17, 2015, 08:22 AM
It's good to be geek!
MrSatoV's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomHpl
Not at all, it's quite interesting to think about future improvement.

Thanks to you, I found out that the RF module in the i6 is a A7105 module. It is the same that in all flysky transmitter, I think!
So the iBus of the i6 is only a change in the protocol used.

Another path to investigate: I guess it would be possible to add iBus support to FS-T6 or other FlySky transmitters... But I don't have the money to buy another TX

One more idea: possibility to mod a cheap receiver to add sensors and iBus to it...
I have yet to figure out how/where to use iBUS, and I have the i6 TX and iA6B RX. Should be rad... if only....
Sep 17, 2015, 03:14 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSatoV
I have yet to figure out how/where to use iBUS, and I have the i6 TX and iA6B RX. Should be rad... if only....
You can get 8 (or even 14) channels out of your iA6B receiver for example. With a FC that supports iBUS and this mod to the TX, you will have 8 channels instead of current 6, with the same hardware.
Sep 18, 2015, 06:07 AM
Registered User
That's exactly right, Triibutu.
But I think that with a iA10 receiver, the 8 (or more) channels would also be available through PPM.

DoubleQuad: I am using the iA6b receiver with a naze32 clone FC, configured to use iBus.

Triibutu: Thanks for the links i'll definitely check these!

Sorry if I don't answer fast, but my engineering courses had restarted, and I don't have all the time I'd like to work on this project . But I'm doing my best
Sep 24, 2015, 08:38 PM
Various miniquads.
DoubleQuad's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomHpl
That's exactly right, Triibutu.
But I think that with a iA10 receiver, the 8 (or more) channels would also be available through PPM.

DoubleQuad: I am using the iA6b receiver with a naze32 clone FC, configured to use iBus.

Triibutu: Thanks for the links i'll definitely check these!

Sorry if I don't answer fast, but my engineering courses had restarted, and I don't have all the time I'd like to work on this project . But I'm doing my best
Awesome. I have the stock Rx but my friend has the B version so if this ever goes any where I do have the ability to test...
Oct 05, 2015, 10:38 AM
Registered User
Hi everyone!

I just finished my custom updater and I'm looking for someone to test it!

Requirements:

- FS-i6 transmitter
- FS iA6B receiver
- use the iBus protocol between the receiver and the flight controller

Safety warning:
I did some testing like uploading a corrupted firmware, abruptly stoping the upload process, and other random things. I was always able to reinstall the official firmware with the official flysky updater.
As I don't touch the bootloader of the program, there's is no theoretical risk of non-recoverable bricking of the device, but I don't guarantee it! So use this at your own risk!
Oct 05, 2015, 02:29 PM
Various miniquads.
DoubleQuad's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomHpl
Hi everyone!

I just finished my custom updater and I'm looking for someone to test it!

Requirements:

- FS-i6 transmitter
- FS iA6B receiver
- use the iBus protocol between the receiver and the flight controller

Safety warning:
I did some testing like uploading a corrupted firmware, abruptly stoping the upload process, and other random things. I was always able to reinstall the official firmware with the official flysky updater.
As I don't touch the bootloader of the program, there's is no theoretical risk of non-recoverable bricking of the device, but I don't guarantee it! So use this at your own risk!
This is getting mighty interesting!

So one needs the updater cable to flash the Tx? I don't have one yet but could get one off BG.

Can you use iBus with the Naze32?
Oct 05, 2015, 02:35 PM
Registered User
Yes you need the updater cable, or some other usb to rs232 adapter. If you have an arduino you can use it as a updater cable too.
( see http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/...6-with-arduino )

And yes, I use it with a naze32 clone, and the baseflight firmware I'll show you the way when you're ready to test
Oct 06, 2015, 02:55 AM
Various miniquads.
DoubleQuad's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomHpl
Yes you need the updater cable, or some other usb to rs232 adapter. If you have an arduino you can use it as a updater cable too.
( see http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/...6-with-arduino )

And yes, I use it with a naze32 clone, and the baseflight firmware I'll show you the way when you're ready to test
I have an Arduino FTDI adaptor which looks like the one in that post. I'm sure I have some of those plugs kicking about too. I'll see if I can't make a cable...
Oct 06, 2015, 06:16 PM
Registered User
A FTDI adapter and some wires is indeed all you need, let me know when you are ready (test to update with the official updater to be sure everything works).
Oct 07, 2015, 05:01 PM
EE Student
Just chiming in to let you know that this is very impressive!
Especially your reverse-engineering of the firmware.
I'm looking forward to future updates on your blog. When my IA6B arrives I would like to test out the new firmware as well.
I'm an EE student myself too, so I tried taking a look at the firmware, but without a good disassembler like IDA it becomes very tedious, very quick.
Oct 09, 2015, 05:04 AM
Registered User
Thanks dude! If you are interested I can give you the IDA files I have. I added some comments and differenciated most of the data blocks or code blocks.
Oct 09, 2015, 02:59 PM
Registered User
Quick post, just to say that I found some informations about the telemetry on the firmware:

It appears that there is 4 kind of sensors:

0 is for "IntV", probably internal voltage
1 is for "Tem", probably temperature
2 is for "Mot", maybe rpm, or something about the motors
3 is for "ExtV", probably external voltage

It also links these codes to some names, maybe it could be of use for someone:

7C is for "Odo1", probably odometer 1
7D is for "Odo2", probably odometer 2
7E is for "Spe"
7F is for "Tx.V"
FE is for "Err"
Oct 09, 2015, 03:55 PM
Registered User
Saijin_Naib's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomHpl
Quick post, just to say that I found some informations about the telemetry on the firmware:

It appears that there is 4 kind of sensors:

0 is for "IntV", probably internal voltage
1 is for "Tem", probably temperature
2 is for "Mot", maybe rpm, or something about the motors
3 is for "ExtV", probably external voltage

It also links these codes to some names, maybe it could be of use for someone:

7C is for "Odo1", probably odometer 1
7D is for "Odo2", probably odometer 2
7E is for "Spe"
7F is for "Tx.V"
FE is for "Err"
Awesome news. Do you know if the FS-ia6b sends the ExtV, or does it only send the IntV and Err as I see now?

I'd love to have the FS-ia6bv2 send a "real" voltage to my transmitter to monitor instead of the rather worthless IntV it sends now.