Jul 02, 2004, 07:17 AM
Thread OP

Newbie Needs .40 Engine & Required Acessories/Parts Advice for New Gas Plane

Hello,

I am a complete newbie to gas-powered aircraft. Here is the aircraft I am purchasing:

http://www.blackdogaeroworks.com/com...sp?idProduct=1

1. What specific brand & type of engine do I need?

2. What other accessories/parts do I need to buy?

3. Is Tower Hobbies a good place to purchase everything needed?

Thank you so much for the benefit of your experience in getting me into the air with this new gas plane!

Julie ;o)
to remove ads between posts
Jul 02, 2004, 07:44 AM
The instructions which come with the aircraft should provide some recommendations for engine etc. There's no information or suggestions on the website address you gave so I would be reluctant to buy - as a beginner - without some guidance from the company.

I suggest you contact them by email and defer buying until you get an answer.

It depends on so many factors, but somewhere around the 15 to 29 glow engine seems a likely starting point. the appearance of the advert suggests that electric power may not be suitable. As for Tower as a supplier, the name comes up often in these Forums and appear to be helpful and informative. If they supply the model, why not ask their advice too? No reputable model supplier will try and get you to buy something which will put you off the hobby - you won't go back for further trade if they did.

Have you anyone local who flies similar models? You can save a lot of time and money if you can team up with people in a local club or group who can give regular advice. All the assorted one-off things you need to go with models - glow starter, propellors and such can make a long list but can be used with other models.

Keep in touch!

Tony
Jul 02, 2004, 07:46 AM
Looks like all you'll need are the radio gear, engine and bits to get the engine running. Virtually any .40 engine will be fine for you.