Jul 23, 2015, 05:09 PM
Thread OP
Question

CG "Zipper" power question

OK fellows, a little advise; preferably from someone that's done it. Have a CG Zipper I built several years ago(54" ws) and never put in the air. Mostly I run large gas but I did find a EFlight 480 1020KVA motor with a 40A speed controller & have installed same in the ZIPPER. Have several 2200mah Lipo packs @ 20C I will use 1 @ a time of course! Have a 9x5 APC prop on it. Weight comes in at 1# 14oz. which is 2 oz. over the drawing design weight. Using Rudder & Elevator on FM. Know it's a little late to ask, but what have others been using for electric power.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 23, 2015, 08:53 PM
Culper Junior
I have a Zipper which I've been flying for about 4 years now with a brushed Magnetic Mayhem, direct drive. I'd have to go out to the garage to check what size wood prop is on it. Doesn't go vertical, but flies nice enough for me. Almost forgot...batteries...6 cell 1200mah nicads. I'm also using a Futaba Attack rx which has the speed control built into the rx. IIRC its 30 amp.
Jul 23, 2015, 11:51 PM
I like real wooden aeroplanes!
Need to know the power in watts (or current in amps and battery voltage - are your 2200 2S or 3S - to be able to calculate same). A 14 ounce vintage design will actually fly as a R/C model on amazingly little power, probably no more than 40 watts, maybe even less, but if you want to replicate the F/F climb performance of a pylon power model then around 120 watts would do the trick at this weight, in which event it would stay airborne on about 1/3rd throttle.
Jul 24, 2015, 06:51 AM
Thread OP
3 cell batteries; I have 3 of them an it's what I'm using because it's what I have and it's what balances on the CG!
Jul 24, 2015, 07:06 AM
Blueplaidcanard flyer
Put a 10x7 apc on it and go.
Jul 24, 2015, 07:06 AM