Jul 21, 2015, 12:45 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Balsa Leading Edge vs Skinned Foam Leading Edge

Newbie here. Is there any significant difference between hangar rash, or landing dent resistance, etc. between a separate balsa leading edge on a foam wing versus just skinning a foam leading edge? Or skinning the foam leading edge a bit thicker than the rest of the wing?

A balsa leading edge seems to be some extra effort and I have some idea of why it is done, but not fully and am not sure how well faster alternatives perform.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 21, 2015, 02:13 PM
San Antonio TX.
A balsa sheeted leading edge won't hold up to any type of abuse, hit and split. a solid balsa leading edge holds up very well and when you get a dent just inject with a little water, heat and with patients the dent can be removed.

Bob
Jul 21, 2015, 04:11 PM
Entropy is happening!
As Bob says above.
You have not stated what flying style this model is for though. For example, on my slope planes I use a good hardwood shaped LE strip. While on lighter thermal planes, I use the popular method of light carbon fabric applied to the LE on the bias before vacuum bagging. There are dedicated threads on this subject with several methods of applying the carbon.
I have used a light Baltic Pine or Pauwlonia LE strip on thermal plane wings as well. Quite light enough and very tough.
The hardwood strip LE can be added before or after vac bagging.
Jul 21, 2015, 04:25 PM
Thread OP
I guess it would be classified as a sport plane. How does the style of flying affect how ding resistant the leading edge should be. Are you trying to protect the leading edge from accidents? Ground rash from belly landings? Does having landing gear make a difference?
Last edited by DKNguyen; Jul 21, 2015 at 04:31 PM.
Jul 21, 2015, 04:33 PM