Jun 14, 2015, 07:34 PM
Discussion

Hitec micro servos - very poor quality

I've been flying RC for almost 15 years, mostly 3D airplanes with some mild 3D helis flying. I fly a lot, about 1,000 flights a year with planes ranging for foamie park flyers to 100cc - all my planes are electric powered (so very easy on the servos).

In my first dozen years of flying I didn't have a single servo failure, other than stripped gears in a servo that was my fault. I'm very careful with my servo selection and always choose a servo that is recommended by the designer of the plane/heli.

Over the last couple of years I have had four servo failures with Hitec micro sized servos. Three 5065MG (rudder twice, elevator once which caused a crash). Most recently I had a 5087MH running at 8.0v regulated in an Skywing Edge 55 fail in the elevator causing a crash that destroyed the plane.

I also had a Hitec 7955 servo fail on the rudder of my 3DHS Slick 89 about 18 months ago, fortunately after I had landed the plane.

I'm about ready to give up on Hitec servos, particularly in the micro size. The quality of these servos use to be good but in the last two to three years the quality has dropped a lot. I asked my LHS about their experience with Hitec micro servos and they confirmed my opinion that the reliability is very poor.

I would be interested to know of other peoples experience with these servos and recommendations for better quality servos.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 16, 2015, 09:16 AM
You are always more than welcome to send the servos into us. This would actually be the best method to help enable us to figure out what is going on with the servos. As of right now, the HS-35 and HS-5035 servos were the only ones that had a buggy issue, everything else we don't have any notable high rates of failure.

The 7955 shouldn't have failed, that's our most popular servo and there are zero issues to speak of with that servo.