Hangar 9 Cessna 182 ARF - De-building and customizing - RC Groups
Jun 13, 2015, 12:57 PM
Build Log

Hangar 9 Cessna 182 ARF - De-building and customizing

When I bought this plane my plan was just to follow the ARF philosophy - Get it into the air as quickly as possible. However, the more I thought about it the more I felt the urge to customize it and make it into a true scale model. The Hostetler Cessna 170 and 195 build logs in this forum are definitely to blame for at least some of my motivation.

I'm new at this scale building thing so a lot of this is a learn-as-I-go process. The next project might be a Hostetler Beechcraft Bonanza so this will be a learning tool for that build.

This model will be powered by a Saito 220 Golden Knight, which is substantially more than most have put into one of these. My reasoning for this is two-fold: One, I already had this engine on the shelf. Two, and more importantly, this will end up being a float plane. More than that, it will be an amphibious float plane with retracts based on a set of Aerocet 3500 floats. Between that and the scale modifications it will weigh a decent amount more than the 16.5-18.5 lbs Hangar 9 expects it to come in at. I figure something more like 25 lbs is a realistic number for my plane.

The main scale upgrade is going to be the cockpit. So far the passenger and baggage doors are cut out. I'm a little restricted here because the floor of the model is higher than it would be in the real plane so I had to cut the bottom of the door a bit higher than it should be. I'm debating cutting the window frames so that they will be able to open like the real thing.

Over the last day or so I put together a CAD model of a Garmin G1000-equipped Skylane instrument panel and a friend with a 3D printer printed it out for me. I'll trial fit this in the plane and after that look into back-lighting the screens.