May 21, 2015, 03:31 PM
Waste Nothing
Thread OP
Question

Flying Trikes in a Tail First Mode ?

Gentlemen :

This may seem like a Noob question but as I have very little flying experience with trikes , I thought to ask the experts .

Q) If a guy wanted to reconfigure a trike to fly in a 'tail first' mode most of the time , what would have to be reversed besides the yaw servo ?

Reversing the yaw servo is obvious but is it a simple thing to just swap the M1 and M2 motors as well ? The idea was to use use the trike frame as the internal guts of an airplane must as one recently posted on the blogs . I think that the video clip was called something like " A Walk With My Pet" . Awesome looking plane . Perhaps a plane along the lines of this fellow or a Battlestar Galactica Viper MK4.

Just a thought . Any ideas here ? RickC
Latest blog entry: Fellas Fellas Fellas !
to remove ads between posts
May 22, 2015, 10:45 PM
Waste Nothing
Thread OP
Did I answer my own question ? M1 and M2 motor revesals on their connection to the FC and the rudder servo reversal ? Does this even make sense ?
May 23, 2015, 02:35 AM
SSM
SSM
ɹǝpunuʍop
Isn't it the elevator (pitch) and aileron (roll) that you need to reverse, rather than the rudder (yaw)?

Simon
May 23, 2015, 02:44 AM
I void warranties
The problem with reversing rc channels is that it messes your stick commands / settings all up. I would think it's doable in the code, without ha ring to just make it work by randomly reversing channels.

As to your question about just swapping motors one and two, that Idea is right but then you're still left with the front / rear issue, again I would think it better to do it in code.

Here's a question, win the typical layout (T or Y style, single motor in rear) does it actually matter which motor you yaw? Just recently I saw a thread with a guy that yawed the front two motors, could you only yaw one of the front arms?
May 23, 2015, 09:56 AM
Waste Nothing
Thread OP