New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Ron van Sommeren, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Aug 09, 2004, 10:53 PM
Kinda Wild Bill is offline
Find More Posts by Kinda Wild Bill
Registered User
I originally posted this in another thread and someone suggested that it should also be posted here.

When mounting 5x4x2 magnets on the new GB custom flux ring I have found that they can be equally spaced around ring by cutting short pieces of 3/32 inch OD brass tubing and placing a piece between each magnet. It's a good tight fit and holds well. I don't leave the tube pieces in there permanently, just until the magnets are glued in.

Bill
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 17, 2004, 05:21 PM
RobinBennett is offline
Find More Posts by RobinBennett
Sussex, UK
RobinBennett's Avatar
Stainless steel isn't magnetic; so any pins, needles or tweezers made from it are great for pushing magnets around - much stronger than wooden toothpicks.
Old Aug 17, 2004, 05:32 PM
TeamSME is offline
Find More Posts by TeamSME
40%, 5% whats the diff?
TeamSME's Avatar
One tip I have is to place the magnets on the bell then glue then when you satisfied with the gap.

My first motor
17turns newb wire
Star/WYE
N45's
Go Brushless Kit

hey its my 700th post 300 to go!


Sean
Last edited by TeamSME; Aug 17, 2004 at 05:37 PM.
Old Aug 17, 2004, 07:35 PM
Amos is offline
Find More Posts by Amos
Registered User
A simple test rig

The prop is mounted inverted, "pushing" down on the scales.
Last edited by Amos; Aug 17, 2004 at 07:39 PM.
Old Aug 20, 2004, 01:52 AM
vox is offline
vox
Find More Posts by vox
vox
Registered User

Yet another winding tip.....


If you simply wind by hand and have trouble gripping the wire, I've had good results with using a latex rubber glove for the winding hand. It grips the wire extremely well and makes the job a lot easier.

A wittled down chop stick can help squish windings between stator winds to make extra room for more windings.
Old Aug 25, 2004, 10:50 AM
bz1mcr is offline
Find More Posts by bz1mcr
AKA Don

Magnet Spacers


The first photo shows the spacer in a can. It's fast, easy and precise.

EDIT 10/10/04 Production spacers now available! from Strong RC Motors
Last edited by bz1mcr; Oct 10, 2004 at 09:37 AM.
Old Aug 25, 2004, 03:20 PM
Amos is offline
Find More Posts by Amos
Registered User

Stator plates alignment


If you still have a match you can use it for 25 mm plates alignment

The stators slots are aligned with groove in the bearing tube. A simple
pin locks them.
The matches are used to align the stator plates when gluing the hub to
the bearing tube.
Old Aug 31, 2004, 06:07 AM
olmod is offline
Find More Posts by olmod
Good Better Best quest.
olmod's Avatar

wind data


Interesting winding data for 20mm stators.


http://www.eflypower.com/modules/new...c_id=9&forum=4
Old Aug 31, 2004, 03:35 PM
rysium is offline
Find More Posts by rysium
Why not Delta?
rysium's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron van Sommeren
Airgap, magnetwidth and -thickness, #magnets, stator- and rotor-diameter calculation:
Or this one, if you want it off-line using Excel. This one has all three GBL stators predefined, you can change all blue fields (number of magnets, thinckness, width, center airgap and bell thickness), and spreadsheet will calculate the rest.

RysiuM
Old Sep 01, 2004, 10:16 AM
Jay C is offline
Find More Posts by Jay C
Unicorn
Jay C's Avatar
Ok, I've used Richards Spreadsheet and added the spece between magnets and space for magnets calculations. I also fixed a bug and now it draws the number of magnets correctly (would only do a max of 12 before). Not sure why you would need or want space for magnets but there it is anyways

Calculator

I'll work on letting you specify multiple mags per pole.

Jay
Last edited by Jay C; Sep 01, 2004 at 10:18 AM.
Old Sep 01, 2004, 11:42 AM
flypaper 2 is online now
Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
One of the limits on how many amps you can draw is limited by how hot the coils get, so I used the three holes in the bell as a cooling fan. Before i glued the magnets in I drilled the holes out to 1/8 in. Put a small punch or drill shank in the hole and bend it in the direction of prop rotation to act like an airscoop. Grind the inside where it sticks out on the inside so it won't touch the coils or flatten the inside with a punch. Havn't tried with a temp gauge, to tell the difference but will do and let you know.
Old Sep 02, 2004, 10:15 AM
bz1mcr is offline
Find More Posts by bz1mcr
AKA Don

Test mount


Here is a bench test mount. It is easy to make, and simple and safe to use.
It is very helpful when making motor comparisons, because motors can be switched in a few seconds.

Fabrication:
1. Start with 1/2 plywood or similiar material.
2. Drill a hole sized to your motors bearing tube.
3. Make a saw cut thru the hole.

USE:
1. Clamp lightly in a vise. (Squeezing the saw cut.)
2. Insert motor.
3. Snug vise

Have fun!


Visit Strong RC Motors for custom setscrew motor mounts.
Last edited by bz1mcr; Oct 10, 2004 at 09:42 AM. Reason: added website
Old Sep 03, 2004, 09:00 AM
olmod is offline
Find More Posts by olmod
Good Better Best quest.
olmod's Avatar

Test cables


When i was looking around for a suitable low loss cable to hook up to my dyno meter box to monitor amps and volts,it was suggested to me to have a look at Jumbo speaker cable,plenty of fine strands robust around the work bench,and is low loss,oh and the cool look factor. Thanks Brian. BTW size of wire was selected to suit 20 amps.i use a p10 controller.
Last edited by olmod; Sep 03, 2004 at 09:04 PM. Reason: edit
Old Sep 03, 2004, 10:58 AM
Amos is offline
Find More Posts by Amos
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by olmod
When i was looking around for a suitable low loss cable to hook up to my dyno meter box to monitor amps and volts,it was suggested to me to have a look at Jumbo speaker cable,plenty of fine strands robust around the work bench,and is low loss,oh and the cool look factor. Thanks Brian.
Olmod,
I have been using speaker cables on my brushed motors. Only problem -
the insulation cannot sustain heat. Be sure to use larger cross section area
than you normally would.
Amos
Old Sep 03, 2004, 11:15 AM
arx_n_sparx is offline
Find More Posts by arx_n_sparx
Dismembered Member...
arx_n_sparx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amos
Olmod,
I have been using speaker cables on my brushed motors. Only problem -
the insulation cannot sustain heat. Be sure to use larger cross section area
than you normally would.
Amos
I would NOT kibbitz in this thread, but Olmod is right. Speaker wire is generally rated at 60 C. Not the best stuff to use......

Brad


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd-rom motor conversion homepages/tricks/sources/discussions Ron van Sommeren Parkflyers 5 May 21, 2008 06:50 PM
32X CD-Rom Drives--FOR SALE kist2001 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Apr 23, 2002 05:33 PM
Looking for dead CD ROM (36x or faster) Jim McPherson Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Apr 12, 2002 11:47 PM
Paul Matt on CD-ROM? tiggs Scale Kit/Scratch Built 2 Mar 26, 2002 09:07 PM
F/S Realflight Sim.. CD-Rom jfruge Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Oct 29, 2001 09:17 AM