Apr 06, 2015, 08:52 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

budget touring car kit

hey all so im new to the car forums and rc's with wheels in general and i want to do a 1/10 touring car build, im limited to about 200 dollars for a chassis kit and i have narrowed it down to 2 atm i was wondering if anybody could give me any info on either or any kits in that kinda price range i may have missed

1) Schumacher Racing Mi1v2 1/10 Electric Touring Car Kit
http://www.amain.com/rc-cars/schumac...chk151/p292624

2) Yokomo SD9 Sport 1/10 200mm Electric Touring Car Kit
http://www.amain.com/rc-cars/yokomo-...tc-sd9/p267795

one question i had right off the top of my head is yokomo had another one for a little more that was belt driven, i assumed that shaft driven would be better but am i wrong?
to remove ads between posts
Apr 07, 2015, 08:46 AM
Did I make the A Main?
I would go with the belt driven Schumacher, they are very nice quality. You'll have better body selection by going with a 190mm chassis, and you can still buy wheels with 6mm offset to use 200mm bodies if you wish. Note that a narrow track width will provide better performance.

Shaft drives tend to produce torque steer problems with any motor more powerful than a 17.5T

Another budget car worth considering is the TD10 which is a copy of the discontinued Sakura Zero-S:
https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Car_KIT_.html

For a good balance between budget and performance, that's the car I would build for myself.
Apr 08, 2015, 11:28 PM
Registered Basher
I have been researching 'budget' touring cars as well and have in a cart this one http://www.asiatees.com/display?id=6...a%20XI%20Sport
free shipping over 75 and 10% off til 04/10
I have read what Bill said about the torque steer, right now belt drive is 'in'.
But I have no real experience with this one or the ones you are asking about.