Improving the Sport Cub S RTF - RC Groups
Apr 01, 2015, 03:17 PM
Help!

Improving the Sport Cub S RTF

Hello,

I'm very new to this great hobby and have been loving my Sport Cub S from Hobby Zone. Two questions if you please:

1. I noticed right away that getting this plane to descend without turning down the throttle is almost impossible due to poor down elevator control. This almost led to my losing this plane, one which LOVES to climb (I wonder if they did that purposefully to help newbies keep the plane in the air). Has anyone encountered this, and how would you fix this?

2. How would one make this plane more impervious to wind? Making it heavier is my guess, though the next question would be -- where do you add the weight? Should I add some lead directly to the center of gravity? Do I add weight to the nose and the tail balancing these two? How would you go about doing this (or would this even be worthwhile).

Thank you,

David
to remove ads between posts
Apr 01, 2015, 06:35 PM
1. Most beginner airplanes are setup so that they will climb at full throttle, fly level with moderate throttle, then descend with the throttle cut back to idle. If you wish to descend, just cut the throttle and let it glide down.

2. With more practice comes better skill. With better skill comes more wind tolerance.

Have you tried taking a look at the numerous HZSC threads posted about?
Apr 01, 2015, 07:35 PM
Chesapeake Bay RC Club
David,
I suggest you hop on over to the micro RTF threads. There is a world of info there. If you add much weight to this plane it will fly very poorly. I have one and it is not a windy weather flyer!
Gary
Apr 01, 2015, 08:20 PM
Fair enough -- thanks all!

David
Apr 02, 2015, 06:43 AM
<<<<I|I>>>>
Quote:
Originally Posted by park_flyer_
I noticed right away that getting this plane to descend without turning down the throttle is almost impossible due to poor down elevator control.