Thread Tools
Jun 30, 2015, 08:36 AM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP

Question for Acrow


Acrow,

I have an update ready to send to Phoenix, but before I do I wonder if you would test fly F7F Marines for me and let me know if you see anything else that needs fixing.

Thanks, rick p
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 30, 2015, 10:55 AM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiano
i will do it when i'll finish the project

i'll try too to download blender and pass my file from rhino to blender and then save it in obj,

i hope to can share my project with everyone!
is something that miss in phoenix simulator
Now that you've teased us, what are you building?
Jun 30, 2015, 05:11 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Acrow,

I have an update ready to send to Phoenix, but before I do I wonder if you would test fly F7F Marines for me and let me know if you see anything else that needs fixing.

Thanks, rick p
Hi Rick

I couldn't get the flaps to operate. I am pretty sure that model has them.

Regards

Acrow
Jun 30, 2015, 06:06 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Now that you've teased us, what are you building?
it's a secret!

just i really don't know use phoenix builder

there is someone that wish fix this project and let it be ready to fly on phoenix?

if someone wish, contact me by e-mail at [email protected] so i will send the obj file or other requiest!

hope to fly it soon
Jun 30, 2015, 06:44 PM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acrow
Hi Rick

I couldn't get the flaps to operate. I am pretty sure that model has them.

Regards

Acrow
Acrow,

While the real aircraft certainly had flaps, this simulated model doesn't.
I tried flaps on several other simulated models and didn't like the result.
Never seemed to close fully and didn't make much difference in the air.
So at this point I've concluded that they're not worth the trouble.

Thanks, rick p
Jun 30, 2015, 06:46 PM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiano
it's a secret!

just i really don't know use phoenix builder

there is someone that wish fix this project and let it be ready to fly on phoenix?

if someone wish, contact me by e-mail at [email protected] so i will send the obj file or other requiest!

hope to fly it soon
Just sent you an email, rick p
Jun 30, 2015, 07:04 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Just sent you an email, rick p
reallyy so gentle!

i'm sending you the 3ds file with wetransfer.com, i've explained you why, by e-mail

thanks a lot!!
Jun 30, 2015, 08:41 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Acrow,

While the real aircraft certainly had flaps, this simulated model doesn't.
I tried flaps on several other simulated models and didn't like the result.
Never seemed to close fully and didn't make much difference in the air.
So at this point I've concluded that they're not worth the trouble.

Thanks, rick p
Pity. It adds to the scale authenticity.

Regards

Acrow
Jul 01, 2015, 06:05 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Just sent you an email, rick p
i'm sending now the file obj always with wetransfer, this gonna be a file more big
Jul 01, 2015, 08:38 AM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP

Flaps ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Acrow
Hi Rick

I couldn't get the flaps to operate. I am pretty sure that model has them.

Regards

Acrow
Acrow,

I flew the Phoenix Carbon-Z Cub and couldn't tell much difference between flaps up and down.
Saw the flaps deploy when I toggled my DX-6i switch, but didn't do much aerodynamically, even when I set the lift increase to 100%.
Either my setup is wrong, my perception bad or Phoenix modeling weak; as know flaps have a dramatic impact on real model.
Would you try the same thing and report back please?

If get flaps to make a significant difference, will start adding them to my models.

Thanks, rick p
Jul 02, 2015, 12:00 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Acrow,

I flew the Phoenix Carbon-Z Cub and couldn't tell much difference between flaps up and down.
Saw the flaps deploy when I toggled my DX-6i switch, but didn't do much aerodynamically, even when I set the lift increase to 100%.
Either my setup is wrong, my perception bad or Phoenix modeling weak; as know flaps have a dramatic impact on real model.
Would you try the same thing and report back please?

If get flaps to make a significant difference, will start adding them to my models.

Thanks, rick p
Hi

The best example for me is the Cessna 182 as I am familiar with the full size.

In Phoenix, at the site and weather conditions I used, the stall speed with no flaps was 24 knots and with full flaps was 18 knots, just reading the stats off the screen.

The POH for the C182 shows stall speeds:
  • flaps up, power off 56 knots
  • flaps down, power off 50 knots

So in both cases the difference was 6 knots.

Certainly the difference with and without flaps in the Cub in Phoenix R/C is much less.

By the way, you can view the current flap settings on screen from the view flight info display.

Regards

Acrow
Last edited by Acrow; Jul 02, 2015 at 06:41 AM.
Jul 02, 2015, 10:00 AM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP
Thanks Acrow - I'll give it a try. Rick p
Jul 03, 2015, 11:05 PM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP

Flap Question


Acrow,

For the Cessna 182, using View.Display.Flight info:
Flaps "up" shows 6.3 deg and flaps "down" shows 10 deg.
Expected 0 deg up and 20 deg down as flap travel is set to 20 deg.
This probably explains why I haven't seen much difference between up and down.

Any idea what's going on?

Thanks, rick p
Jul 04, 2015, 04:22 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickp
Acrow,

For the Cessna 182, using View.Display.Flight info:
Flaps "up" shows 6.3 deg and flaps "down" shows 10 deg.
Expected 0 deg up and 20 deg down as flap travel is set to 20 deg.
This probably explains why I haven't seen much difference between up and down.

Any idea what's going on?

Thanks, rick p
I ran out of free channels on my transmitter (DX7) so I mapped flaps to keypad 4 and 5. That gives me fine adjustment between 0 and 20 degrees.

To change the mapping, go to System -> Your Controls -> Edit Profile.

If you want to keep your original settings, then before making any changes select Copy Profile and give it a different name.

Regards

Acrow
Jul 04, 2015, 08:18 AM
better is enemy of good enough
rickp's Avatar
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acrow
I ran out of free channels on my transmitter (DX7) so I mapped flaps to keypad 4 and 5. That gives me fine adjustment between 0 and 20 degrees.

To change the mapping, go to System -> Your Controls -> Edit Profile.

If you want to keep your original settings, then before making any changes select Copy Profile and give it a different name.

Regards

Acrow
Good intuition, as it did have to do with my control settings.
Needed to re-calibrate controller, assign flaps to channel six and then invert.
Also needed to double model's flap travel to get desired down visual.

Net-net, flaps up and down now behaving correctly, and I can perceive difference.

Having "technical difficulties" with my F7F Blender model, so may be a while before it gets visible flaps.
Gonna add them to P-38 though as that model is cooperating better.

Thanks for the help, rick p


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools