Mar 17, 2015, 11:36 AM
says hello from Norway
Thread OP
Discussion

HMF Totem Q330

Hi all
Browsing the net for some 330 quad frames I stumbled over this one.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HMF-Totem-Q3...item35e5a100e3

I ordered one and it came in after just one week.
Have just put it together to take some pics and put it on the scale. Donīt know if I like the attachment of the arms though. The holes in the bottom plate is almost at the edge of it. Would guess that is a weak point on a crash..... The arms will twist in the frame on crashing since there is no third screw to stop the sideways movement like on the F330 frame.... We will just have to see how that goes
It said in the description that it could take 8" props so I figure I can move my drive train over from my F330.... Hm not sure about it. Looks to be some problems on clearance...

To be continued
to remove ads between posts
Mar 17, 2015, 06:38 PM
Expert Heli Crasher
That's very nice looking. I have never built a quad before, but I would like to, and the 330 size looks great for me. What motors, props, ESCs will you use?

-Florida Heli-
Mar 18, 2015, 03:06 PM
says hello from Norway
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Florida Heli
That's very nice looking. I have never built a quad before, but I would like to, and the 330 size looks great for me. What motors, props, ESCs will you use?

-Florida Heli-
Yeah I think it got the right look to it. I had plans for using the DJI 920 KV motors with 8" props I have on my F330 frame using 4S batteries but it looks not to be enough clearance to the frame plates for the props..... Have ordered some 6x45 props to see if those fit better but then I will need to go to some higher KV motors....
Have looked at some DYS 1400 KVīs that can handle 4S. The ESCīs will be ZTW spider 12A ones I think.
Have just started building a F450 for a colleague of mine so this Totem frame will have to wait a bit before any progress will be done.
Mar 27, 2015, 01:35 PM