May 31, 2004, 06:48 PM
StereoAerial Photographer
Thread OP

New Platform for Stereophotography: CN2X

Here's the latest platform that I've been working on for a couple of months: The CN2X! (Its name is sort of a rebus - you'll figure it out. It sports two Aiptek 1.3M SD cameras, looking to the right of the fuselage. They are operated using Wild Moose's Backpack switch.

Motor: Mega Motor 16/15/7 direct driving a MA 9x6 electric prop.
Speed Control: Phoenix 10
Batteries: 8x1000 mAh NiMH
Wing: 68" span scratch built - same wing as the LocalHawk Lite
Fuselage: Two different size econo towel bars joined by lite-ply shims
Tail Feathers: Coroplast
AUW: about 41 oz.

Notes: This plane is definitely not overpowered. Still, it climbs steadily, has a motor-on time of about 6 minutes, and has a very smooth glide. Pictures taken with the motor on are not wavy, though that may change if I decide to upgrade the power. The platform has been in flight testing for a week before mounting the cameras. I just integrated all of this stuff this morning, and flew this afternoon.

Camera mounts will be improved (filament tape doesn't provide accurate location, and the foam wedges don't control camera angle well either).

This platform will allow stereophotography of moving objects and up-close subjects. I am also looking forward to using the camera pairs to do non-aerial stereophotography.

John
to remove ads between posts
May 31, 2004, 07:48 PM
Tell that to George Zipp!
That looks cool. Now just try going quadraphonic!
That esc and those batteries could use an upgrade. Try a 3S lipo like a TP2100 and a CC25 esc with the same prop and you will climb!

MIKE
Jun 02, 2004, 01:13 AM
too cool! post those shots. my eyes need the exercise.
Jun 02, 2004, 01:50 AM
Thread OP