Scale Build Off 4, Monocoupe 90A - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Mar 02, 2015, 07:27 AM
Designer/Builder
Build Log

Scale Build Off 4, Monocoupe 90A

Not like I don't have enough on my plate already, so I'm throwing in another new design into the build off, a Monocoupe 90A.

A friend (who should be posting here too) got me interested in this, and I need a high wing plane in my fleet so what the heck. Wing span is 55" and I'm targeting a TBD 30mm outrunner on 3S 3300mAhr pack.

Features of the design include plug in wings (ala my WW44 and LTR-14), operational flaps, working cabin doors (for battery access), laser cut balsa and plywood self aligning construction.

-Jim
to remove ads between posts
Mar 02, 2015, 07:37 AM
Designer/Builder
I ordered 3 sets of prototype parts, two friends will be building (and debugging) along with me. It is great help to have some fresh eyes on the plans. I've been starring at my monitor for several months, so I know how it should go together but can others figure it out or find something I've missed.

With the parts sorted, I started on the tail feathers. The tail outlines and wing tips are laminated from 4 layers of 1/16" balsa. I like this method and it produces strong, light structures. I got the fin and rudder framed up Saturday morning. The outline and internal structure are 1/8" thick with a laser cut piece to help with the fin alignment. The internal structure will be faced both sides with 1/32" balsa and sanded to bring it to 3/16: thick and allow for easy shaping.

-Jim
Mar 02, 2015, 07:54 AM
Wanted for breaking Ohm's Law
Hi Jim,

Watching until I get my kit.....
Mar 02, 2015, 12:02 PM
Sub'd. Always liked the lines of the Monocoupe 90A. If there is a kit, I'll surely consider.
Mar 02, 2015, 12:35 PM
There are some who call me....
Great looking subject and color scheme. Sub'd
Mar 02, 2015, 04:27 PM

Great Subject Jim !

I'm really looking forward to seeing your Monocoupe.