Anybody built a downsized Sig Seniorita? - RC Groups
Feb 12, 2015, 06:23 PM
Buildn it one stick at a time!
Discussion

Anybody built a downsized Sig Seniorita?

I'm experienced with building kits, bashing, and enlarged plans with planes to 90" and weighing 20lbs.......but I have NO experience with electric at all. For my first electric "park flyer" project, I thought I'd shrink a 63" Sig Seniorita down to 75% to a 4 channel 47.5" plane with ailerons. The actual factory 63" kit weighs 3 3/4 lbs, but I have no clue what a completed 47.5" plane will weigh. I assume I should frame-up the 47.5" plane first and then weigh it near completion to get an idea of what kind of motor I will need.

1)Should I install right thrust and down thrust on the firewall as the factory plans show for a glo plane?
2)In the meantime I'm curious and was wondering if the flying weight ends up at about 3lbs, what kind of motor, battery, servos, and controller would you recommend?
Last edited by G.F. Beurling; Feb 14, 2015 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Corrected grammar so I don't come across like a NYC taxi driver from Uzbekistan.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 12, 2015, 07:15 PM
B for Bruce
If you're looking at a model done with built up strip construction of this sort have you considered some of the old timer free flight models converted to RC?

It's not hard to drop the dihedral down to none or a little and go ailerons if you're after a 4 channel model. And there's many old timer designs that just REEK of character.

Check out the downloadable plans in the old timer's portion of Outerzone for some inspiration before you leap. Just don't be lured in by the scale sections or you'll lose at least a dozen hours sitting in rapture looking at your computer monitor and downloading an entire hard drive of good stuff. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! ! ! ! !

The part you want is the I.C. section of free flight sport. Then look for dates and wing sizes that are in your target size.