May 21, 2004, 09:40 AM
Too lazy to repair!
Thread OP

Help needed from those w/ experience with AXI motors

I recently purchased a Sig Rascal 40 ARF kit. I would like to convert it to electric flight. I think it is very doable. According to motocalc, my Hacker B50-18S with the right gearbox should fly it very nicely. But, it will take a fairly high voltage pack (6s). In order to handle the higher voltage, I will need to go to an oversized ESC.

I was wondering about the AXI outrunners. The idea of using a fairly large outrunner with no gearbox is kind of appealing to me. I have no experience with the outrunners and the motocalc numbers seem to be hard to find.

I am hoping to find a motor that can generate enough power to fly the Rascal with authority (not looking for 3D capability but I don't want it to be under powered either) on a 3s lithium pack and pull current suitable to run a 45A ESC.

Is this possible? Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks,
Joe
to remove ads between posts
Sep 11, 2004, 12:33 AM
I need a new plane STAT!!
My club buddy converted his 40 ARF using a phasor 45-3, 14 cells. I currently run an AXI 4120/16 with a Pipercub 60 size. It pulls 45 amps from 16 3000NIMH cells and will be converting o Lipos using 5s4p pack. this is overkill for my plane and would be WAY overkill for the Rascal but may be what you are looking for.

DrBill
Sep 11, 2004, 02:15 AM
PGR
PGR
Low AltiDude
There are two fellows flying Rascals w/ AXIs in them at our flying field. One went the hi performance route and the other flys scale. Both planes fly very well and the one that flys scale will stay up for about 20 minutes.

Not sure what motors & batteries they use but I'll ask tomorrow.

Pete
Sep 11, 2004, 09:41 AM
Too lazy to repair!
Thread OP
DrBill and Pete,