FPV goggles or screen - RC Groups
Jan 02, 2015, 12:14 PM
emergencymonkey
Discussion

FPV goggles or screen

I am new to the idea of fpv but very excited about the idea. I purchase the AP combo blade 350 qx2 and it is yet to arrive but had me thinking. While it comes with fpv using my phone, and I know this is purely opinion, what is your preference for goggles vs a small to mid size screen?

I understand total immersion with goggles, but I feel some of the fun is watching your aircraft fly in the sky. How about being aware of your surroundings and having the goggles on? Just curious people's thoughts. Thank you so much!
Last edited by zoltarDO; Jan 02, 2015 at 01:27 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 02, 2015, 01:14 PM
fly by night
there are many opinion on this!

goggles:
pro:
-light, small, easy to pack and carry
- more immersive than small monitor
- guaranteed not to 'blue screen' with static
- real nice having built in receiver
- real nice having headtracking for fpv airplanes
con:
- very expensive
- less aware of the airspace in your vicinity. cannot see fullsize aircraft
- cannot see the landing area very well, so many folks switch to line of sight to land

Small LCD monitor
pro:
- very cheap. even $30 for a used one
- can more easily switch to line of sight in an instant, without time for eyes to adjust
- can scan landing area quickly prior to landing
- good for framing shots using a stable quadcopter doing videography
con:
- bulky, clunky, fragile.
- often a nest of wires to deal with
- hard on the eyes watching a tiny screen - well if you are over 40 years old, LOL.
- I hate HATE flying with a small LCD (I have a 9 inch) and never do it
- not immersive at all, makes it not useful for demanding FPV flying like scale, aerobatics, miniquad