The Vertigo Revisited -- 10 years later!

One modeler's experience with this awesome aircraft designed by Tom Hunt.... This is a scratch builders dream project -- and Jaffray took 10 years to really get it right. Enjoy the saga of his exploration of the Vertigo.

Article Thumbnail

Introduction

On a normal day in July, 1994, I went to the mailbox and found the August 1994 issue of the Model Airplane News. On the cover was Tom Hunt and one of his Vertigo models, outbound on a vertical takeoff. I walked directly to the telephone (we didn't have cell phones to speak of then, or I would have called from the mailbox), and ordered the plans. I read the article. I studied the plans. I read the September 1994 issue follow-up article. Over and over and over. I am guessing now that at this point, I am not alone. This is without question one of the most incredible model aircraft ever designed and planned. Also without question, it is one of the most complex and demanding aircraft to build and fly successfully (which is why my aircraft waited for my abilities to catch up - like about eight years)!