May 03, 2004, 10:46 PM
Where's the Kaboom?
Thread OP

Question on Li-Poly that sticky threads don't cover

At least I couldn't find any of this info in the sticky threads. I also did some searches... Anyway, I'm pretty new to this hobby, and I have a 2100mAh 2S1P Li Poly by Thunder Power.

I have been reading on what to do and what not to do with these batteries. I know that some people say that the voltages should not be below 6.0 volts, and others (manufacturer) say that it should not go below 6.6v (3.3v per cell) Also on the charging end it should not go above 8.35v. So with that said, I assume these voltages are measured with a multimeter and the battery at rest.....

Well, my charger shows voltages much different than my multimeter. Which one of these do I rely on?

The multimeter seems to have about a .4 volt difference (high) than my charger. I think that's a huge difference, and so much I'm afraid of starting a fire. I'm taking the reading with my multimeter and the battery at rest. I'm taking the reading with my charger just as I plug the battery into it. At that point in time, it's usually charging at less than 50ma.

The charger I have is a Schulze isl 6-330d, and the multimeter I have is a no name $15 meter I bought at like Target or Wal-Mart. I would like to not just assume that my cheap multimeter is wrong, but would rather know exactly how I can check the accuracy of both of these devices. Is there a way to calibrate? Or maybe, because I don't know what I'm doing, and I shouldn't be checking voltages of my pack with my charger...

I notice the voltage of my pack increases in relation to the number of amps it's being charged at, but my multimeter still reads higher than my charger anyway.