Taranis Spektrum RF Module Hack - RC Groups
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by N0Glow, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Sep 07, 2014, 01:44 PM
Registered User
N0Glow's Avatar
Discussion

Taranis Spektrum RF Module Hack


Spent the day yesterday helping a friend do the Taranis Spektrum RF module hack. This is the hack where you pull the built-in RF module from a Spektrum transmitter (usually DX4E, DX5E). My friend was using the OrangeRx DSM2/DSMX module but he's been having some issues with a random problem using that module where the channel assignements go back to the FrSky defaults (RETA instead of the Spektrum TAER channel sequence). He also misses the Model Match and wants the antenna internal. One of the biggest complaints with the OrangeRx module is the antenna location; it's easy to break the antenna and you can't lay your radio down when the module antenna is on. Some of the original version of this module were known to have this issue and Hobby King performed a recall but my friend's module is one of the more recent ones.

As usual with these type of things, a lot of the information available on the internet was either incomplete or left some key details for you to determine/guess. Just so you know where I'm coming from, I'm no electronics expert, although I have some basic knowledge I acquired when I took a few electronics courses while in the US Army. Not trying to re-invent the wheel or take credit for anyone else's work. Just trying to fill-in the gaps. Here are some of the references I used:
http://openrcforums.com/wiki/index.p...e_DSM_protocol (probably the best one I found)
http://www.rctodayshow.com/forum/vie...hack&start=190 - some useful tips and photos
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...M#post29069518 - useful info on antenna connections

Here are some of the Radio Shack part numbers for the required parts:
Diode 1n4001 ( Radio Shack Catalog #: 276-1101 )
4k7 Resistor (Radio Shack Catalog #: 271-1330)
3 Pin TO-92 package voltage regulator (Radio Shack Catalog #: 276-1617)* OR
3.3V 3A UBEC (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=17159) - often out of stock OR
SOT-89 surface mount (SMT) pulled from the DX4
1uF Capacitor (not required if using a BEC)
10uF Capacitor (not required if using a BEC)

* The easiest way to power the module is the BEC, followed by the TO-92 regulator. I got stuck having to pull the surface mount regulator from the original radio because the BEC and the TO-92 regulator were both out of stock at Hobby King and Radio Shack respectively.

Removing the module and SMT regulator was relatively easy. A friend told me that the trick is to wet the solder wick with flux so it picks up the melted solder quicker. If it won't release, then there's still some solder left around the pin holes.

Here's a photo of the module that we pulled from a DX4E (it says DX5e but apparently both radios use the same RF module).
Name: 20140907_134404.jpg
Views: 649
Size: 323.8 KB
Description:

On the module, pin 1 is ground (gnd), pin 2 is positive (vcc), and pin 6 is PPM


Pre-thining the individual parts and liberal use of liquid flux made things easier. Just make sure to clean the board with alcohol when you're done.

To be continued...
Last edited by N0Glow; Dec 29, 2014 at 08:36 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 07, 2014, 02:52 PM
Registered User
N0Glow's Avatar
Found another related thread on rcgroups but in this diagram they also use some capacitors in the circuit. https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=2086520
Sep 07, 2014, 06:11 PM
Registered User
N0Glow's Avatar
Ok, I think I figured out the issue with the capacitors. I believe that the capacitors are only needed if you assemble the circuit with a regulator such as a SOT-89 or TO-92. If you hook it up with a BEC, apparently you won't need the capacitors. I'll edit my initial post once I confirm this.
Jan 12, 2015, 05:42 PM
Registered User
N0Glow's Avatar
For some reason, the finished module never worked. I think I might have applied too much heat to some of the components when soldering.

I'm going to retry this a different way. A user on the Facebook Crashcast Listeners page did an excellent writeup on how to do the module with a custom PCB board from OshPark and an original Spektrum DM9 module case.
Mar 26, 2015, 09:31 PM
Registered User

Spektrum Module Hack made stupid easy!


15-20 minutes tops if you have any degree of soldering skills.....

How to put a Spektrum RF module into a Taranis X9D --Super Simple version (17 min 0 sec)
Apr 25, 2015, 02:11 PM
Registered User
N0Glow's Avatar
Success at last thanks to Luke Williams over on the CrashCast podcast (https://www.facebook.com/groups/1678...c_location=ufi). I ended up doing the Spektrum Module hack based on the OshPark PDB https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/mQXHRTOA and these parts http://www.digikey.com/short/74twz8.

The only problem is that the PDB's are sold in lots of 3 but since this module was actually for a friend, I'm going to build one for myself and build a third to sell to a felow club-member. Apart from the DigiKey parts, and the PDB, you'll also need the original Spektrum module chip plus you'll need to order the case http://www.horizonhobby.com/spm6817. This is definitely the easiest way to do this. Worked immediately and without problems on my friend's Taranis. Cost per module comes to about $22.50 in the US. Build one and sell the others.
May 05, 2015, 01:09 PM
G Force
Marky_B's Avatar
Can anyone show me what headers the spektrum rf module uses? I have one with only the header in bad shape fron desoldering (I purchased it like this from a member). I'd like to remove it and put on a new one. I was looking at a few 2x6 breakaway headers but I'm not sure which one exactly to get.
Dec 24, 2015, 10:41 PM
Registered User

Melted radio header


Hi,

My radio header melted when trying to remove it. Can it be repaired?
Sean
Apr 04, 2016, 01:49 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
how do you bind to an rx do you use the trainer button still?
Last edited by irun4fundotca; Oct 10, 2016 at 05:06 PM.
Oct 09, 2016, 12:07 PM
Adam
xStatiCa's Avatar
Does this hack module work with 2.1 also? I want to make sure pin assignments didn't change or something.

EDIT: Yes it does work.
Last edited by xStatiCa; Oct 23, 2016 at 08:12 PM.
Oct 23, 2016, 07:18 PM
Registered User
Charlie the Crow's Avatar

Number of Receivers


When I bind in the DSMX mode, I noticed that I'm limited to 20 receivers. Is that a separate count from those in the Taranis mode so to speak, ie. can I have two #1 receivers. One in the Taranis mode and one in the DSMX mode?
Dec 18, 2016, 03:28 PM
Registered User
Hi everybody,

I try to do my hack module, except that problems with a X10EMTX B and not the only one on the net so I do not stress anymore with it.
I decided to try with a X1TXO of my DX7S, and nothing also works ... no bind, well 3V3, RAS editing, setting taranis ras, ...
A person has already tried with this type of module (X1TXO)?
I find rather mounts with X1TXN output of DX4e or DX5e so I ask myself.

Thank you
Mar 29, 2017, 06:53 PM
Registered User
JF1980's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark89
Hi everybody,

I try to do my hack module, except that problems with a X10EMTX B and not the only one on the net so I do not stress anymore with it.
I decided to try with a X1TXO of my DX7S, and nothing also works ... no bind, well 3V3, RAS editing, setting taranis ras, ...
A person has already tried with this type of module (X1TXO)?
I find rather mounts with X1TXN output of DX4e or DX5e so I ask myself.

Thank you
I have a X1TXO B taken from a DX4e. I have the same issue, nothing. Did you find your issue in the end?
Apr 04, 2017, 10:17 AM
Registered User
JF1980's Avatar
Second module I tried works perfectly.

Interestingly the module is different - DX5e 18.25dBm vs the other module which says DX5e E TO506DF 17.97dBm.

Thread Tools