Aug 10, 2014, 06:42 AM
Thread OP
Help!

Take off's

Well what I need is lots of advise from foam fighter pilots. I have been flying for about 2 years, that's with really no training just self taught which is not so good! I have weak areas and I thought "Let me through the question out there and get help!" HOW TO TAKE OFF IN MY FOAM FIGHTER AND NOT CRASH ON TAKE*OFF? Nose overs, left torque roll, wing stall...Everyone seems to have their own idea, go fast, go slow, give it a little rudder, try ailerons...some do better with a little right aileron, etc...

So I have a hard time with take-offs and landings, but let just talk about take-offs first.
What is the best way to take -off?
Type of Planes: Foam Fighters, Dynam, Parkzone, Blitz, FMS, etc...about 35 to 48 inch wing span, 3 to 5 lbs. Stock setup. Assuming all per-flight is properly done, CG, right size bat, right kind bat, built right, control surfaces adjusted, etc...
So bring it on....give me good scripted advise, send me to links, use visual ads. etc.
Thank You morockpow
to remove ads between posts
Aug 10, 2014, 06:55 AM
I think the issue is that a lot of war birds a short coupled. The fuselage is much shorter than the wingspan. I love Corsairs and they are difficult to get off the ground. I have had several and none of them were easy. My most successful takeoffs occurred when I got my plane to "taxi" at around half throttle with right rudder(a lot of it)to get it going in a straight line. Once the tail got off the ground I would increase the throttle steadily up to full and lift off. Mine always wanted to go left on the ground(torque)so it was a matter of getting used to it. I never had one that wanted to torque roll, however. None of my other planes are that difficult to get on and off the ground so I feel your frustration. I hope this helps at least a little. I know everyone will tear it apart and tell you otherwise, but that is how I had SUCCESS taking off.
Aug 10, 2014, 08:25 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.