Apr 15, 2004, 08:49 AM
Thread OP

The Saga Continues ......

Hope this doesn’t bore you guys ...... I’ve got no real experience / success with slope but I’ve been a fan of this forum for a couple of months. I love the pics, movies, stories and especially the information. A real wealth of information.

Just thought I’d bring you guys up to date on my reentry to R/C. I use to fly glow 20 years back never got real good at it and recently I decided to give it another go .... I’m a windsurfer so slope seemed the obvious choice.

I really enjoy the building and designing aspect of the hobby so a scratch build was the way to go. I posted this a while back ........ used Ace foam wings ...... she always went into a spiral when turning. Got heavier and heavier with every repair!

Specs:
wingspan 52”
length 34”
w/loading @ 18oz (after several repairs)
Wing: brown paper over foam
Fuse: fiberglass over balsa

Well I was very concerned about the V-tail (my first) and spiral stability so I tried again ....... same wing BTW. I did wise up when it came to color schemes though ... try looking for a black and beige plane in tall grass ........

Specs:
Wingspan 52”
Length 34”
W/loading @ 13oz (the day it got lost)
Wing: brown paper over foam
Pod: fiberglass over balsa
Boom: fiberglass tube
to remove ads between posts
Apr 15, 2004, 08:51 AM
Thread OP
The yellow one worked a lot better in test glides but had the same spiral tendencies when I went out to the big slope. Now this big slope I refer to is not the one in the pic (that’s my test slope very gentle) The big slope does have good lift .... guys paraglide off it when the winds are mild. But there’s no real LZ and and there’s dense bush everywhere.

Well on the fateful day my baby executed one turn ...spiraled and was never seen again!
Apr 15, 2004, 08:53 AM
Thread OP