Thread Tools
Sep 19, 2019, 05:56 PM
Pascal
hpnuts's Avatar
You can use RX numbers with assan to get a 1 to 1 match.
In fact with multi you can have this match with all protocols where the RX remembers the TX.
Pascal
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 19, 2019, 06:07 PM
Ben Lye
For extra fun, if you compile your own firmware you can use the same global ID on different modules, then you never have to rebind anything.

Because I swap modules around a lot for testing I have four modules all with the same ID.

You need to beware of the potential downside of this, but it works well for me.

Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk
Sep 19, 2019, 06:37 PM
Pascal
hpnuts's Avatar
I'm doing the same. So whatever radio or module I take on a day I can fly my planes (if the model is on it of course). But the important fact is that I'm the only user of the radios and modules so I know that I'll never mess up with a duplicate ID.
Pascal
Sep 19, 2019, 07:46 PM
Registered User
jims123's Avatar
I'm sure glad to hear this about binding with these DIYs and frankly because I assumed I'd have to rebind all my planes each time it changed, that was one of the reasons I had a lot of reservation about modding the DIY firmware. I also fly alone lately 99% of the time or I'm with a student using my second radio, so I'm not worried about messing up another pilot's plane nearby me. .

I think you should consider highlighting this "feature" that you won't need to re-bind after each firmware change in the Intro material some where..cause re-binding planes in general is such a pain.
Sep 19, 2019, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Yeah I also use a known global ID so I can use two different modules. In my case I have a second A7105 module with an Arduino Nano running Multiprotocol that has the transmit stuff commented out so it can receive telemetry from iNav without having to add any sort of telemetry transmitter to my model. The idea was to eventually make a camera mount that automatically tracks the model using its telemetry but I haven't gotten around to it yet.
Sep 20, 2019, 02:58 AM
Registered User
3djc's Avatar
Coming in OpenTX 2.3.1... (NOT in 2.3.0, the next one !)

Multi Flash in OpenTX 2.3.1 (0 min 35 sec)
Sep 20, 2019, 05:31 AM
Froggy RC Pilot
LapinFou's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3djc
Coming in OpenTX 2.3.1... (NOT in 2.3.0, the next one !)

https://youtu.be/TnBaQe5g4ao
Wahouuuu !
Great !!
Sep 20, 2019, 05:40 AM
looking up, down under
scruffy1's Avatar
i'm a bit confused, given i can do that on 2.2 on the x9d+ (first edition, not the reboot)


is the x7 unable to do so at 2.2 ?

i agree it's good to be able to, but am i missing something here ?
Sep 20, 2019, 05:58 AM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
OpenTX has hever been able to flash a multiprotocol module before.
You could only do it on a radio by using the ersky9x bootloader.
Sep 20, 2019, 06:04 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Thanks guys - that is a big leap forward in convenience.
I'm guessing Pascal, Mike and the OpenTX team all contributed to this.

Much appreciated

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3djc
Coming in OpenTX 2.3.1... (NOT in 2.3.0, the next one !)

https://youtu.be/TnBaQe5g4ao
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilrah
OpenTX has hever been able to flash a multiprotocol module before.
You could only do it on a radio by using the ersky9x bootloader.
Sep 20, 2019, 06:08 AM
Registered User
3djc's Avatar
Most definitively a large team effort, you can add pafleraf to this list (but the I guess you probablkly implied him as well under the OpenTX 'umbrella')
Last edited by 3djc; Sep 20, 2019 at 06:14 AM.
Sep 20, 2019, 06:57 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3djc
Coming in OpenTX 2.3.1... (NOT in 2.3.0, the next one !)

https://youtu.be/TnBaQe5g4ao
Flashing on a Q X7 no less, that must mean it compiles for the X7 target now too! :-D Awesome work guys, always improving.
Sep 20, 2019, 08:12 AM
looking up, down under
scruffy1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilrah
OpenTX has hever been able to flash a multiprotocol module before.
You could only do it on a radio by using the ersky9x bootloader.
aha ! i see the subtle difference

but from a practical point of view, it's no harder to use the ersky9x bootloader

although i guess that's once you've set it up, whereas this is "native"




colour me impressed then, but i already appreciate is a clever guy from my recent interactions

bravo ! encore !
Sep 21, 2019, 03:02 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by scruffy1
aha ! i see the subtle difference

but from a practical point of view, it's no harder to use the ersky9x bootloader
The main difference here is that you donít even need to reach to the bootloader. You can do it directly from the SD manager, as any other flashing of modules.

This gets interesting when it comes to internal modules.
Sep 21, 2019, 09:35 PM
looking up, down under
scruffy1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pafleraf
The main difference here is that you donít even need to reach to the bootloader. You can do it directly from the SD manager, as any other flashing of modules.

This gets interesting when it comes to internal modules.
given the entire ability is a form of magic as far as my engineering skills go, it's just a further spell in the book of r/c incantation


protocolis mirabilis ! (waves balsa wand)



Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools