Apr 28, 2014, 05:40 AM
Thread OP
Question

Gas Engine Newbie

Hi,

I'm new to gas engines and have few basic Qs

What sealant do you guys use or recommend when fitting a muffler (or anything else that requires a gasket or seal ?

What fuel tubing, fuel tank filler etc are good & where can I get them at a good price on ebay ?

Oh, and maybe a good brand of 2 stroke oil that will do the job, fuel filter etc.

It's a Saito FG-21 I'm setting up.

Any tips appreciated.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 28, 2014, 08:32 AM
Thread OP
Anyone ?

Were my q's that stupid ?
Apr 28, 2014, 11:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by BieneFlyer
Hi,

I'm new to gas engines and have few basic Qs

What sealant do you guys use or recommend when fitting a muffler (or anything else that requires a gasket or seal ?

What fuel tubing, fuel tank filler etc are good & where can I get them at a good price on ebay ?

Oh, and maybe a good brand of 2 stroke oil that will do the job, fuel filter etc.

It's a Saito FG-21 I'm setting up.

Any tips appreciated.

I generally don't use a sealant on the muffler but any hi-temp automotive gasket sealant would work.

Most people use Tygon for fuel line, it hardens over time though. For some of my lines I use Viton, a black neoprene type fuel line, it is supposed to last longer but you have to find the right grade for use with gas with alcohol added. Lawn mower repair shops would have a good fuel line too.

I use Redline 2 stroke oil, others like Stihl HP Ultra.
Apr 28, 2014, 02:44 PM
Multi-Platform Pilot
Exactly what he said ^
Apr 28, 2014, 04:21 PM